Everyone Should Have a Duck

My grandpa sent me a link to the below video yesterday about a trucker and his duck. Yes, that’s right. Joe has a pet duck named Frank that rides in the front seat of his truck on all of his jobs.

It’s a happy little story. Joe muses that “if more people had a duck in their life, maybe we wouldn’t all be so mad at each other all the time.”

Havi, who I mentioned here yesterday, also has a duck. Her name is Selma and she is of a brighter, smaller, wide-eyed variety. I suspect Havi and Selma would agree with Joe’s philosophy.

My husband loves to reminisce about a pet duck he had as a child. Football (aptly named for the way he was carried happily tucked under hubby’s arm like a football) was one of those tall white ducks. You know, like Webster who used to help David Copperfield in his magic shows.

Hmm, there are more people with ducks than I realized. And all of those duck people do seem happier. Joe may be on to something.

Anyway, here are a few videos of people and their ducks. (Or is it the other way around?) Enjoy!

Joe and Frank:

David Copperfield and Webster:

Update: I had to pick a new David Copperfield clip. The other one was in a foreign language.

2 Comments

  1. brandi said,

    Friday, April 24, 2009 at 10:21 am

    OMG that is too freaking adorable! and when I hear that duck just quaking away, I think he’s giving his commentary on the whole thing. :-)

    also, I responded to your comment on my last post regarding fear-it’s in the comments section.

    I haven’t been responding much to comments within the actual comments section of the post much and have started doing that and just didn’t want that to be missed.
    :-)

  2. Friday, August 14, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    […] in April I began to realize how many people had ducks- when my husband was little he had a pet duck named Football, Havi has Selma, David Copperfield had […]


Leave a comment