Thankful to be Healthy Again

You know how after you’ve been sick, there is one day that you realize you are better? Of course it can be a slow process so you may have a few days where you progressively feel a little better than the day before. But there is one day that you realize you are buzzing around with normal energy and it dawns on you that you feel great. Not just great, but the kind of huge great you can only feel after being sick. You know what I mean?

Today is that day.

I’ll spare you the details, but Monday I woke up nauseous, had a really rough 24 hours, then Tuesday started to recover. Wednesday I was really tired and had no energy whatsoever. Even just walking a few steps left me winded.

Today, however, I’m back. I just realized it. I woke up at 7:00 and have been steadily getting things done all morning. I even hauled my Christmas packages to the post office and went on a grocery run. While carrying the groceries in to the house, I realized I’m better. Hallelujah.

These are the kind of days when you swear you’ll never take your health for granted, even though eventually you probably will, until you find yourself sick again and realize “I don’t truly appreciate those healthy days.”

So today I’m appreciating my health. With all my body and mind, I am thankful for my health. So thankful. Thankful for my energy. Thankful for my ability to eat and drink.

And I’m so so thankful for my husband who took the very best care of me and never left my side.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

