Wishcasting: Go Slow

Wishcasting

Wishcasting badgeIt’s Wishcasting Wednesday again where Jamie Ridler invites us to cast our wishes and support others’ wishes. Today Jamie asks, “Where do you wish to go slow?”

This question stumped me. Go slow? I have a baby due in 8 weeks, in-laws still living in what is supposed to be the baby’s room, baby supply shopping to do, Christmas shopping to finish, gifts to ship across states, and Christmas decorations to put up. Meanwhile I’m getting bigger, slower, and less flexible by the day. Aaaaah!

So that is exactly where I wish to go slow. I know that my in-laws have a couple prospects for moving (this part I hope goes fast), so I am trying to trust that this will happen and the baby’s room will soon be vacant for us to clean, paint, assemble furniture, and prepare for our baby’s arrival. My husband hopes we can do that during the week between Christmas and New Year’s.

I wish to slow down and enjoy the process of the holidays. I love decorating for Christmas and there is no rush. It’s only December 1st. There is plenty of time to slowly unpack and carefully place nutcrackers, garland, and ornaments in the coming weeks.

I have already wrapped a few gifts that I purchased early. I just received a shipment of gifts I ordered online, so I can leisurely wrap those over the next week and prepare them to ship to my friends and family. There is time. I can go slow and enjoy this over time, rather than needing to rush and get it all done in one day. And yes, I still have some gifts to figure out for my husband and stepson, but it will come to me if I slow down and lessen the pressure on myself to get it figured out and finished now, now, now.

I just need to remember that I started early so that I wouldn’t feel rushed. I can go slow with the remainder of my Christmas preparations. And honestly, no one will likely notice or care if it doesn’t all get done.

Slow. Deep breathe.

Thankful

Yesterday I wrote about my desire to return to a practice of daily gratitudes. So here we go.

Today I am thankful that I did my Christmas cards early for the first time ever. They are stamped and ready to go. I am thankful for the ability to create photo books in iPhoto, for The Ellen DeGeneres Show, and for my washer and dryer. (Seriously. It frees me up to do other things while my clothes are being washed. How smart is that?)

December Special

December 1/2 Price Offer

December 1/2 Price Offer

It’s a new month, so I have a new Thirty-One special to share!

During the month of December, for every $31 you spend, you can purchase one of the following items at half-price: flat iron case, hard case wallet, or mini on-the-go organizer. It’s a great way to get a little extra something for yourself or add to a holiday gift (for example, buy a purse and get the half price wallet to make it extra special).

See the December flyer for details, then start shopping at my Thirty-One site. You’ll find purses, organizing totes, weekend totes, baskets, and all sorts of gift-giving goodies. If you have any questions, email me at lifeafterweb at gmail dot com.

14 Comments

  1. Ginny said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 10:28 am

    As Sherri wishes for herself, I wish for her as well. It sounds like you have everything under control and will have a wonderful holiday season. It sounds like such a fun exciting time at your house. I think you gave us all some great advice. Just take it slow and breathe.

  2. Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 11:34 am

    Wow. You are getting so close with the baby… and I know, it feels like S-L-O-W is an impossibility.

    Ahhh, love each moment. Love, love, love each moment….

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also!

  3. Gina said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    The last stages of pregnancy should be slowing you down now….you’re right that it’s not that important to get everything done. I’m with Julie — enjoy each moment and get as much rest as possible. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

  4. Googlover said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Wow! You have a lot on your plate and a great attitude about it. AS you wish, so I wish for you, too.

  5. Shannon said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    All the best with the holidays, the in-laws and the new baby soon to bless your life.

    As you wish for yourself, I also wish for you.

  6. Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    As you wish for yourself, I so wish as well for you with my whole heart.

  7. Jeniffer said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Remembering to breathe is an important one. Especially with a new baby arriving soon, I hope you have many opportunities to enjoy your wish right now. As you wish for yourself I wish for you also.

  8. carol said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Wow… your going slow will give you as much time as you need …as you wish for yourself i wholeheartedly wish for you also.

  9. Genie Sea said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    I got tired reading about all the things you need to do! I wish you the strength of a thousand women and a slow exhalation of peace in achieving everything you need to. Best of luck! :)

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you! :)

  10. Marilyn said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    so much on your plate right now…wishing you a gentle December. as you wish for yourself, i wish for you also.

  11. alifeunrehearsed said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    As you wish… I wish for you….. happy Wednesday.. xo hugs.. thks for sharing your heart.. xo

  12. Lucy said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  13. Mare said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also!

  14. mtnmermaid said,

    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    Enjoy the process between now & then…and enjoy your new babe. As Sherri wishes for herself, I wish also for her.


Leave a Reply

