Wishcasting: Fly Free

Wishcasting badgeIt’s late as I write this. Before heading to bed though, I wanted write what I’ve been musing over with today’s Wishcasting Wednesday question. Jamie asks “What do you wish to fly free from?”

Constraints. My own preconceived notions. The fear they instill that prevents me from trying something new.

Why do I talk myself out of things? I’ll be excited about something then overthink it to death until it’s something that I can’t do, shouldn’t do, or aren’t capable of doing. And then I wonder why I find myself in the same place all the time. Who says I can’t, shouldn’t, or aren’t capable? Sadly, the answer is usually me.

Not today. Today I’m moving forward with something I’ve been thinking about. I’m selling the beautiful, functional, so-perfect-for-organizing products at Thirty-One. It’s direct sales, a concept that frightens me to no end. It sounds so icky and my inner gremlins question what business I have being a saleswoman. But I love their stuff and I want to try being a consultant.

After lots of “this would be fun… but no, I couldn’t possibly… but maybe I could… yeah, right (scoff)… but what if I suck at it…” banter, I weighed the pros and cons and decided there is very little risk to me. Besides if it turns out not to be fulfilling, I can choose to end this adventure.

Did you catch that? This is my adventure. I decide when it starts and when it ends.
There are no rules saying I must forever continue everything I ever do. I want to free myself of these so-called rules and free myself to try whatever interests me.

No guilt. No obligation. Just me catching the wind and learning to spread my wings.

You can visit my new Thirty-One site at http://www.mythirtyone.com/sherrihutchins.

3 Comments

  1. Wednesday, October 13, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    here’s to no guilt and no obligation on your adventure and as you wish for yourself so I wish for you also

  2. MaryK said,

    Thursday, October 14, 2010 at 2:07 am

    Spread your wings and FLY! As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also!

  3. Thursday, October 14, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Best wishes on your new adventure!!!
    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.


Leave a Reply

