Happy Friday: Photo Scavenger Hunt

Look at all the happy I found this week, even amidst my own grumbliness. It makes me want to cheer.

Jamie sent us Happy Book participants on a photo scavenger hunt for things that depict the following words: circle, tree, smile, sparkle, heart, clean, treasure, red, fresh, sky, yum, toes, morning, and home.

These were my finds:

The circles were left behind after I moved potted grape vines to their new in-ground location by an arbor my husband has been building this summer.

The tree is a waist high oak that started a year ago from the tiniest, most pathetic looking stick I’ve ever seen. We weren’t sure it would survive, but it’s been growing strong.

Smile felt like a self-portrait was in order. I almost used my growing belly as circle, too!

Sparkle comes from my magic wand, given to me by an old colleague who thought it might help me solve all those “need it yesterday” requests.

Yesterday I opened the windows and let the breeze air out our home, so the blowing curtains represent clean.

At the zoo last weekend I was lucky to capture a photograph of a mama and baby giraffe sharing a moment together. This perfectly encompassed treasure in my mind.

Red and morning are represented by the hummingbird feeder on my deck. Each morning when I’m eating my breakfast, the hummingbirds are having theirs, too.

I doubled up again for fresh and yum after collecting produce from the local farmer’s market and grocery stores. Is there anything better than fruit in the summer?

The sky was a beautiful mix of cheerful blue and ominous gray yesterday as wind moved in and cooled the air.

And yes, those are my toes happily propped up enjoying a peaceful moment.

Our well-worn doormat in the shape of home plate is the first thing that greets us and our guests as we enter the house.

Last but not least, I drew the center picture a few weeks ago using pastels to show the love I feel for this new little bundle of happiness growing inside me. I gave him a big heart because, well, isn’t that what we all want for our children? Hopefully all this happiness is rubbing off on him.

Happy Friday everyone!

12 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    Friday, September 10, 2010 at 9:47 am

    I love your collage and everything that it represents! I look forward to seeing more of your Happy Book assignments! I simply adore your blog, btw~

  2. Ginny said,

    Friday, September 10, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Sherri, this is truly a beautiful post. The pictures are wonderful and the explanations make it complete. I love your self-portrait and the baby in the middle. I am 100 percent sure that all of your happiness is rubbing off on him. Have a wonderful week.

  3. Staci said,

    Friday, September 10, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    I love your post and especially love, love, love your heart! (lots of love!).

    Looking forward to sharing more happy!
    Staci

  4. Lisa said,

    Friday, September 10, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    You had such a great hunt and, may I say, most beautifully presented! I have a willow I grew from a stick, but that was easy. I’m most impressed about the oak!

  5. Friday, September 10, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    What beautiful treasures you found this week. Happy, indeed!

  6. Kelley said,

    Friday, September 10, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Oh, I just LOVE your mosaic! Especially the mom and baby giraffe – lots to treasure in ALL of these shots!!

  7. Leanne said,

    Friday, September 10, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Loved your photos!

  8. Rose said,

    Friday, September 10, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    This is beautiful! *hug*

  9. Helen said,

    Friday, September 10, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    What a beautiful collection of happiness pictures! Have a great week…

  10. Monica said,

    Saturday, September 11, 2010 at 1:00 am

    lovely collection. LOVE the heart.

  11. Alex said,

    Monday, September 13, 2010 at 6:58 am

    I love the idea of the mosaic..might just have to borrow it if you don’t mind!
    Great collection!

  12. brandi said,

    Thursday, September 30, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    I can’t tell which I like more…the circles or the giraffe kiss!


Leave a Reply

