Wishcasting: Less

Wishcasting badgeOn this glorious Wishcasting Wednesday, Jamie asks, “What do you for less of?”

I have so many answers to this, but they pretty much all condense down to three things: stress, negativity, clutter.

For me clutter is the easiest of these to reduce. I go through waves of massive declutter several times a year. No matter how much I get rid of, it seems I can find more to clear out soon after.

The stress and negativity are a little harder to tackle. It’s other people’s negativity that causes a lot of my stress, so those two kind of go together. I’d be fooling myself if I thought I was negativity free, though, so I also have to include myself in that.

Since I can’t change other people, the best I can do is try to avoid negativity in myself. Where other people’s negativity is concerned, I can make a concerted effort to change the subject or walk away.

As for stress, making quiet time to be alone, even for just 15 minutes each morning and night can make a world of difference. That’s why my wish last week was to begin a ritual that would help me do just that.

Jamie sure knows how to pose questions in a meaningful order! What do you wish for less of?

12 Comments

  1. Shamsi said,

    Wednesday, September 8, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    Ahhh Sherri! :) riding the less clutter, stress & negativity merry-go-round with us! YAYYYY! Seriously though I think there are more than several people today who can relate whole-heartedly.

    Here’s to all of your “less”es♥ For all that Sherri wishes to have less of in her life, so too do I wish for Sherri the peace of heart and mind that will come from less of… ♥

  2. Ginny said,

    Wednesday, September 8, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, I wish for her as well. It is true that other people’s negativity causes stress. I am going to be careful to stay out of that trap now that you made me aware of it. Thanks Sherri and have a great week.

  3. Marilyn said,

    Wednesday, September 8, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    two themes that seem to keep showing up again and again in the Wishcasting circle today are clutter and drama…it’s affecting so many of us. as you wish for yourself, i wish for you also.

  4. Gina said,

    Wednesday, September 8, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    It’s true that clutter does promote stress… when I’m in an orderly environment I immediately feel more peaceful. Quite a few bloggers are posting about clutter today–it must be taking over the world! As for negativity, sometimes it’s hard to avoid these people who bring us down, but doing your bit to be positive helps. As Sherri wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

  5. LissaL said,

    Wednesday, September 8, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, I wish for her as well

  6. Stefanie said,

    Wednesday, September 8, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. May we all banish stress and negativity.

  7. Wendi said,

    Wednesday, September 8, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    I hear you. It seems that this wish is one that many of us share. Stress seems to be a prevailing theme for many women now. It also makes me feel less alone in my worry. However, wouldn’t it be nice to have a fellowship of non-worriers?

  8. Cynthia said,

    Wednesday, September 8, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    WE are in the process of creating less clutter. It’s a long process but I have to tell myself that getting rid of it isn’t taking as long as it did to accumulate it so in the end, we will prevail!

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you.

  9. Jennifer said,

    Wednesday, September 8, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    You sound so much like me! I have to do a major decluttering a few times a year but also I declutter my paperwork once a week. As for the negativity and stress, I think for me, I need to learn how to appropiately respond to it, or rather NOT respond to it. I can only change me, so I’ll be working on that :)

  10. Kim said,

    Thursday, September 9, 2010 at 12:02 am

    Those wishes struck a chord! As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

  11. Dionne said,

    Thursday, September 9, 2010 at 7:24 am

    Hm…message from the Universe here since your wishes were the same things that were on my mind this morning!
    As Sherri wishes for herself so I wish for her also!

  12. Thursday, September 9, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so do I wish for her also!


Leave a Reply

