Happier Life Dreamboard

It felt like a dreamboard kind of day, so I pulled out a stack of magazines and my craft supplies to put down on paper what was swirling around in my brain. The final board looks like this:

dreamboard collage

It would seem I was drawn to words more than images this time around. I even included a short article by a nun that talks about how she approaches life. In it she says…

The impulse to hurt someone back is strong, but I don’t like how I feel when I do that. So I don’t let anyone make me anything less than the most loving and kind person I want to be. … We have a choice, every single time, about how to respond to whatever crosses our paths.

I admit I’ve been feeling a little grumbly lately. Chalk it up to raising a teenager, having my in-laws in our guest room for the past 8+ months, or my own pregnancy hormones in full flux. Whatever the case, I don’t like how I’ve been feeling and today I’m making a concerted effort to change what I can- myself.

This morning I finally popped in a tai chi video I borrowed from the library and gave it a try. The calm, purposeful movements had me feeling more harmonious in less than 30 minutes. When my stepson came downstairs doing his usual nudgy teenager thing that seems to have developed this summer, I kept a pleasant tone and engaged him in what I was doing. Not a bad start.

While a Harry Potter movie played in the background, I got to work on my dreamboard and found myself drawn to words like place, love, family, friends, energy, praise, and cooking. One great find among the magazine pages was the phrase “Happier Life” which I deemed the title of this dreamboard after pairing it with the phrase “quite simply.”

As far as images go, I was drawn to gardens, fresh produce, hearts, and Mighty Mouse. Why Mighty Mouse? I’m still trying to figure that one out. Perhaps it’s my desire to be the happy protector and bright spot of energy for my family. My husband has recently dubbed me our life manager. Is that a call for Mighty Mouse to the rescue?

Now that I can see clearly my desire to bring family together in the kitchen for healthy meals, I’ve pulled some recipes, made a list, and this afternoon I plan on getting what I can from a local farmer’s market before I go to the grocery store.

I love it when a dreamboard helps focus my energy.

Leave a Reply

