Happy Post – Perfect Purple Birthday Edition

Happy Book BadgeIn honor of The Next Chapter’s ongoing work in The Happy Book, I’ve been taking some time each Friday to reflect on what is making me happy. It’s great to focus on what is going right since we sometimes get bogged down in what is going wrong.

Yesterday was my birthday, so it only makes sense that today’s happy post show exactly what made my day so happy.

Because I can do whatever I want for my birthday, I took the day off work and went for a pedicure, shopped my local garden center for this season’s plants, dyed my hair a funky color, and had a fabulous homemade dinner.

At the garden shop, I had two goals in mind: creating a flowery mound in my front yard and planting some fresh vegetables and herbs in my backyard garden. Here is my bounty.

Flowers, veggies, and herbs ready to be planted

Flowers, veggies, and herbs ready to be planted

Over breakfast, my husband and mother-in-law asked what I wanted for my birthday dinner. My reply was simple. Chocolate cake with chocolate icing. They said, “Definitely cake! What do you want for dinner?” My reply was the same. I’m unclear as to why this was confusing. :)

We decided on grilled steaks, asparagus with hollandaise sauce, and spinach salad with apples and grapes. It was all delicious, by the way. Plus, I didn’t have to cook or clean up. Woohoo!

As for cake, it was the perfect opportunity to use the butterfly cake pan my friend gave me for Christmas. If you ask me, it’s the most awesomest cake ever! Alongside the cake we had fresh strawberries and smoothies. Yum!

Butterfly cake collage

The most awesomest birthday cake ever!

But let’s get to the hair. I know a lot of you requested pictures.

First let me explain that I scheduled the appointment thinking I would get a pink stripe. When I got to the salon, I looked through a few books to get ideas for what shade to use and where it should go.

I found a gorgeous shade of purply pink, so the hairdresser said she would mix purple and pink together. She went a little heavy on the purple because she was worried about giving me too bright of a color since I’ve never dyed my hair an unconventional color before.

She dyed a few well placed streaks on the underneath layers, which means when my hair is down, you may catch a glimpse of purple, but you may not. If I pull the top little bit of hair back, you see the purple streaks. I think the placement is perfect.

Without further ado, here are some photos. What do you think?

Purple hair

My purple streaks

Purple hair

Close-up courtesy of my stepson

As it turns out, purple hair was perfectly aligned with the unintentional theme in my gifts.

My in-laws gave me a recipe book holder and a purple dress, my stepson gave me some beautiful purple flowers, and my husband gave me a fabulous new point-and-shoot camera in a lovely purply pink. Too perfect!

Birthday gifts

Purple was an unintentional theme for the gifts I received

So those are the things making me happy today. What is making you happy?

6 Comments

  1. Gina said,

    Friday, May 7, 2010 at 9:42 am

    Oh gosh, you do know how to celebrate a birthday! What a great day. Your cake is wonderful and the gifts to match the hair…..serendipity. Your post made me smile!

  2. Nancy S said,

    Friday, May 7, 2010 at 10:54 am

    I love the purple accent in your hair. Good job! Happy birthday!

  3. Ginny said,

    Friday, May 7, 2010 at 11:52 am

    Happy birthday. It sounds like you had a wonderful day. Your purple hair made me smile. It looks great!!!

  4. jamie said,

    Friday, May 7, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Wonderful!! Beautiful!! I have a funny feeling that all this theme of an infusion of colour is going to continue throughout your year! I LOVE the hair! The purple is magical. May your year be the same!

    hugs,

    Jamie

  5. Friday, May 7, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Gorgeous hair and many happy returns for yesterday! Sounded like a wonderful day.

  6. Rochelle said,

    Friday, May 7, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Wow! What an abundance of delicious and fun happy! :> And the purple highlights are AWE-some!


Leave a Reply

