Wishcasting Wednesday: Rules

Wishcasting badgeIt is Wishcasting Wednesday, a wonderful day when we can cast our wishes out in the world and support everyone else’s wishes with positive energy.

This week Jamie asks: What rules do you wish to make or break?

The answer didn’t come to me as quickly as it often does. Usually I have an answer to the question the instant I finish reading it. Today, I oooohed and hmmmmed while deciding just what this meant for me.

As for rules I want to break, there are two. First, I want to break the notion that income equates to an 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. job. In fact, I broke this rule when I was laid off two years ago and began a wonderful freelance career.

Second, I want to break the rule that hair must be a conventional color. In fact, I’m breaking this rule tomorrow. I have an appointment with a hairdresser and my intention is to come away with a pink stripe. It sounds like awesome fun.

As for rules I want to make for myself, I want to make a point to bring more writing, creativity, and kindness in to my life. These things make me feel alive. They feed my soul, improving my mental and emotional health. A little of these each day- that’s my new rule.

One more rule: time outside every day. Even a few minutes can be monumentally restorative, like a vacation. When I am outside feeling the sunshine and the breeze and listening to birds chirp and trees rustle, the weight of the world strips away. In that moment I am just me, part of this amazing, beautiful earth.

What rules are you making for yourself?

6 Comments

  1. Ginny said,

    Wednesday, May 5, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, I wish for her as well. Going outside is wonderful. When I first retired I kept saying this is the most wonderful spring or fall or whatever season it was. Then I realized that for years I had been missing all those wonderful seasons because I was inside most of the day. Enjoy your time outside. And have fun with your new color hair.

  2. Cindy said,

    Thursday, May 6, 2010 at 6:55 am

    I love your rules! They nourish your soul! As Sherrileigh wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

  3. Lucy said,

    Thursday, May 6, 2010 at 7:36 am

    I think I want to do something like a pink stripe also.

    As Sherrileigh wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  4. andrea said,

    Thursday, May 6, 2010 at 9:13 am

    these are beautiful sheri! i hope you share a photo of your pink stripe!
    as sheri wishes for herself, i wish for her also.

  5. Kim said,

    Thursday, May 6, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Wonderful rules! They are so nourishing. I may borrow a few. :)

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

  6. Bev Baird said,

    Thursday, May 6, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Great rules – to both create and break!
    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.


Leave a Reply

