Happy Post – April 23, 2010

Happy Book BadgeIn honor of The Next Chapter’s ongoing work in The Happy Book, I’ve been taking some time each Friday to reflect on what is making me happy. It’s great to focus on what is going right since we sometimes get bogged down in what is going wrong.

Some of the things making me happy this week are:

  • Thriller. That song came on while I was at the bookstore last night and I know I was smiling goofily because I was laughing in my head. That song always makes me laugh. I love the guy that talks at the end. “No mere mortal can resist, the evil of the thriller.” Indeed, this mere mortal can’t resist.
  • My stepson’s interest in a philanthropy book I was reading the other night. He asked what philanthropy meant, then went on to find a few ideas in the book of things he wanted to do.
  • Free-writing. I love to free-write. To just open my journal or my computer and write whatever comes to my mind no matter how absurd, minimal, or crazy it might be. I can simply conjecture, make observations, jump from topic to topic, or ramble. It’s freeing.
  • Strawberry shortcake. My mother-in-law made strawberry shortcake for dessert the other night. I love that dessert (it is one of my mom’s specialties), yet I hardly ever have it. More please.

What is making you happy this week? Let me know in the comments.

Happy Friday!

7 Comments

  1. Friday, April 23, 2010 at 10:56 am

    MMM…. yum… strawberry shortcake. I think I’ll have to have some this weekend! : )

  2. Ginny said,

    Friday, April 23, 2010 at 11:14 am

    It sounds like you had another great week. I think I will follow your path and do some free writing this week. I keep thinking about doing just that but for some reason I never follow through. Have a great week.

  3. Gina said,

    Friday, April 23, 2010 at 11:17 am

    Isn’t it great that a little thing like a song can make us happy? Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. Nancy S said,

    Friday, April 23, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    I must go get Strawberry shortcake right now! Thriller…funny how cutting edge that video was when it first appeared. Now it seems sorta silly, doesn’t it? I did start smiling goofily when you reminded me about the guy talking at the end. The evil of the thriller…mwahahahah!

  5. Rochelle said,

    Saturday, April 24, 2010 at 1:39 am

    I think I’ll be having dreams about strawberry shortcake tonight…or the Thriller video!!! ;->

  6. Saturday, April 24, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    We won’t get local strawberries for another month – but then love to have strawberry shortcake! It’s one of the best desserts, in my book! Glad you’re having such a great day!

  7. Alina said,

    Sunday, April 25, 2010 at 10:18 am

    You so should have broken out in dance to Thriller. Maybe a group of people would have joined you!!!


Leave a Reply

