Where I Wish to Make a Difference

Jamie Ridler, one of my favorite bloggesses (I completely just made that term up and I love it), does this thing she calls Wishcasting Wednesday. She invites people to answer a new question each week and support each other’s wishes by leaving a comment that says, “As (insert name) wishes for her/himself, so I wish for her/him also.” It’s a beautiful thing.

Today’s question is, “Where do you wish to make a difference?”

I wish to make a difference in other people’s lives by showing kindness.

It sounds overly grand. What people? Anyone. Everyone. Whomever crosses my path. We all want to know that someone cares about us. If I can help someone feel that, even in just a few short minutes, I feel I will have made a difference.

Last year I came across a poem that expressed this idea wonderfully. I don’t know who wrote it (it was on a plaque without citation), but I memorized it:

If you planted hope today in any hopeless heart,
If someone’s burden was lighter because you did your part,
If you caused a laugh that chased a tear away,
If tonight your name is mentioned when someone kneels to pray,
Then your day was well spent.

I wish for my days to be well spent.

12 Comments

  1. Sulwyn said,

    Wednesday, February 17, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also

  2. meorthethoughtofme said,

    Wednesday, February 17, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    as sherri wishes for herself, so i wish for her also.

  3. LissaL said,

    Wednesday, February 17, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Love the poem. Thanks for sharing.
    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also

  4. Courtney said,

    Wednesday, February 17, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

  5. Ginny said,

    Thursday, February 18, 2010 at 5:08 am

    As Sherri wishes for herself, I wish for her also. What a wonderful poem and great wish!

  6. Lucy said,

    Thursday, February 18, 2010 at 8:46 am

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  7. Walter said,

    Thursday, February 18, 2010 at 9:12 am

    You have a noble purpose in making a difference. Kindness is a priceless gift you can give unto others. :-)

  8. Karen said,

    Thursday, February 18, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. Kindness is a wonderful gift to share and boy what a difference it can make in people’s lives.

  9. kazari said,

    Friday, February 19, 2010 at 12:07 am

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. That really does sound like time well spent!

  10. Cindy said,

    Friday, February 19, 2010 at 2:24 am

    A simple act can change the world-the ripple effect,
    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also

  11. Friday, February 19, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  12. Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    Kindness! How beautiful, simply beautiful!

    As Sherri wishes for herself, so do I wish for her also.


Leave a Reply

