Finding Gold

In a Joy Rebel Mission Monday two weeks ago, Brandi challenged her readers to choose a color and then go out in the world to photograph things you find in that color.

I chose the color gold and headed to New York that Thursday toting my point-and-shoot camera. During my walk to the office I was keenly aware of how many gold things there were in the city: doors, signs, hydrants, lights. I’d never really noticed that before.

In just a few blocks, I took a dozen photos. A few of my favorites are in the collage below.

Because I was on a mission to seek out a color, I noticed things I hadn’t noticed in my two years of working in the city. I became more aware of details on the path I follow several times a week. It just goes to show that no matter how familiar you think something is, there is always something new to learn.

I plan on repeating this mission with other colors and in other places. Imagine all of the treasures this world is waiting for us to find.

Leave a Reply

