Grandpa

A week ago today I arrived in Florida 14 hours after the death of my grandpa. The next five days were a whirlwind of activity as the entire family worked together to arrange services and comfort one another.

None of us were prepared for this loss. It will take some time to figure out how to go about our daily lives with this void in our hearts.

The one thing I’m not sad about is that grandpa got his money’s worth out of this life. He remained active, stayed busy, and lent a helping hand until his body gave out and, as he would have said, the Lord called him home.

I miss him a lot. I’m also sad for my grandma who is trying to figure out how to be “just me” instead of half of a “we.”

I wrote about his generosity and his perfect answers on Too Many Toasters- my blog about families. Read it here: Saying Goodbye to Grandpa.

Grandpa was and still is an inspiration to me.

Now, go hug or call or write to your loved ones. I sent my grandpa a birthday card two weeks ago and I visited him last summer. Looking back now, I’m so happy I did.

Leave a Reply

