Blogging About Stepfamily Life

Early this fall, I started thinking more about my life as a stepmom, more about my relationships with my own stepparents and step-siblings, and I realized I needed an outlet for those types of discussions.

It’s hard to admit, but sometimes I feel like I’m crazy. As in honest-to-goodness crazy. I get emotional, fearful, and have some really tough days. It wasn’t until I read Stepmonster: A New Look at Why Real Stepmothers Think, Feel, and Act the Way We Do that I realized I wasn’t crazy. In fact, everything that I have felt and thought over the last few years as I’ve entered in to stepmotherhood are things other stepmoms go through. It was such a relief.

Since then, I approach things with more gentleness (to myself and my family). I do my best not to take offense at things where no offense was intended. I try to be helpful to my husband and my stepson and I also try to recognize my own needs and desires.

It’s things like this that made me think maybe other people out there have the same fears and worries. Maybe other people are scared they might be crazy, when really they are just fine. What if there is someone else out there who is a stepmom or is a grown-up stepchild and doesn’t know anyone else in similar circumstances? Who do they talk to?

For that reason I decided to start a new blog, separate from this one, dedicated to living a stepfamily life: Too Many Toasters.

I wasn’t going to mention it here. I was afraid people might think my new endeavor was weird or unnecessary. I worried people might think me weak or mean. Then I remembered how kind the people are who stop by this blog. How silly of me to be afraid of you! I’ve made some good friends here.

So I’m mentioning it.

If it’s not your thing, no worries. If you know someone who might get it, by all means, please send them a link. As of now, I am writing there on Tuesdays.

www.toomanytoasters.com

2 Comments

  1. brandi said,

    Tuesday, December 29, 2009 at 11:23 am

    I applaud you for addressing the stuff that’s important to you in life and I think you’ll find a lot of support. We all have our crap, girly….the more we air it out, the less stigma gets attached to it. :-)

  2. Sherri said,

    Tuesday, December 29, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Thank you for your encouragement, Brandi!


Leave a Reply

