Photo Friday: Cypress Trees

For the past 20 years or so, every time I visit my uncle in Florida, he takes me out on his boat. We go to Lake Santa Fe which is comprised of a big lake adjoining a little lake (aptly named Little Lake Santa Fe), a bay, and an old, overgrown canal.

Being out on that lake, I feel like I am far away from everything. It is one of the few places that always feels carefree.

Lake Santa Fe is ringed by what I used to call “creepy trees” when I was younger. They look drippy, dark, and ominous, yet I always felt safe within their confines. They are Cypress trees and every last one of them is adorned in Spanish moss. I think they’re wonderful.

I took this photo just as we were about to enter the big lake from the entrance passageway. It shows off the creepy trees beautifully. As luck would have it, I managed to capture one of the many fisherman who frequent Lake Santa Fe on his way in from what I hope was a fruitful outing. You can see him in the small break in the trees, which will give you an idea as to how tall the Cypresses really are.

Happy Friday!

Cypress trees with Spanish moss

Cypress trees with Spanish moss

3 Comments

  1. Saturday, September 19, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    I’ve always wanted to see those trees! I think I need to plan a trip to Florida.

  2. Taylor said,

    Wednesday, November 4, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    That photograph is beautiful, and eerie. You’re talented!

  3. Daniel said,

    Sunday, November 29, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    I have a question do spanish moss affect a cyprus tree


Leave a Reply

