A Summer of Firsts

I didn’t really get a chance to talk about it, so I’m taking the opportunity now. The summer of 2009 was a summer of firsts for me. Before it becomes too distant a memory, I thought I’d share some of my firsts:

Wrecked a journal– I’m sure you know that story by now. It was all part of Jamie Ridler’s book blogging adventure. There were also many firsts within this single exercise like making online videos, rubbing a book in the dirt, or setting things on fire… on purpose.

Climbed and repelled– A brick wall, no less. Not even a goofy looking rock with handles that look like they were made from Play-doh. Granted the brick wall had bricks that stuck out especially for this purpose, but whatever- I climbed a brick wall.

Wrote a children’s story– After my best friend mentioned that her daughter loves checking the mail to see if she got anything (usually the answer is no), I got the idea to write her a story and mail it out in parts.

Drew with pastels– It’s pretty good, too! I haven’t taken any art classes (aside from the required classes in elementary and middle school). Over the past few months, I’ve watched some of Connie’s videos over at Dirty Footprints and absorbed some tips- thanks, Chica!

My first pastels piece

My first pastels piece

Painted with watercolors– Ok, this one did not produce a masterpiece and I don’t think I enjoyed this as much as the pastels. The point is I tried it. I may even try it again sometime.

Drove a SeaDoo– I’ve never even been on a jet ski, let alone drive one. I’ll admit I was scared and lagged behind the rest of the group most of the time. By the end of the tour, I got the hang of it. The whole experience was great fun.

Took a photography class– I finally learned how to set the exposure settings on my DSLR to capture the pictures I want how I want them.

Took a class over the phone– Every week I met with a great group of people via phone to work through Deb Owen’s Creative Pathways course. I learned, I explored, I grew. I’m still growing.

Grew squash– I didn’t even know I liked squash until about a year ago. This summer I decided I liked it enough to try growing it in my garden. It started as a piddly little four leaf plant plastered flat against the ground. I thought for sure it wouldn’t make it. Within a few weeks, it grew two feet tall and four feet wide and produced a bounty of perfect yellow squash.

I joined Flickr. I was elected to be a member of my township’s youth baseball board. I rode water slides at Atlantis. I touched a starfish.

Through all of these accomplishments, I learned it is exhilarating to try something new. I learned that I am more capable than I give myself credit for. I learned that play equals life experience. In addition, I’ve met some wonderful people in real life and online. I’ve listened to stories, told stories, and created stories.

Isn’t that what life is all about?

Did you try anything new this summer?

2 Comments

  1. Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    I love the idea of sending a children’s story in the mail in parts! My 7 year old daughter was complaining the other day that she NEVER gets any mail, and I was thinking I need to find someone to send her something just for fun.

  2. brandi said,

    Monday, September 21, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    omg! I love that you wrote a story for your friend’s daughter! What an amazing thing to do!

    I loved reading about all the new stuff you’ve tried. I love new stuff-I try to get as much of it in as possible. :-)

    what did I do?

    visited a blog friend in new york and saw grand central station
    visited graceland
    finally bought joyrebel.com
    did a kickass blog redesign
    renewed wedding vows with jason in vegas
    created my own organizational system for creating my dreams
    cultivated a spiritual practice
    and generally rocked on with my bad self. :-)


Leave a Reply

