A Lot Can Happen in a Week

I left for a week and the world changed. You may be thinking “preposterous,” but it’s true. A lot of it has to do with the end of summer timing, I’m sure.

You see, summer was drawing to a close. My husband and I had planned on taking our kid on a family vacation this year and, as I’m sure is true for many people, life, finances, everything really made a vacation feel intangible.

A few weeks ago, we said, “Screw it! We’re going on vacation.” You only live once and my stepson won’t be a kid forever. We booked a last minute vacation involving Universal Orlando, a cruise to the Bahamas, and a visit to my grandparents. We left about two weeks ago and came back on Labor Day weekend.

The sun was brutal when we left and certainly strong in Florida and the Caribbean. Upon our return, as we stepped out of the airport, however, it was brisk. Chilly even. I fished in my bag for a sweatshirt to protect myself against the gray skies and ominous wind.

Today I wore a jacket to work and still shivered on my way home. It never got out of the 60s. It’s only early September. I fear what this temperature drop means for the coming Winter. Yikes.

On the home front, school started this week for my stepson. We came back just in time to plunge into homework, sports, covering books, and signing teachers’ letters to prove that yes, I did read what they sent home. (And I found all those typos, too. Was that a quiz or should I be concerned?)

Since we are now post-Labor Day, my work has been quite demanding this week as we prepare to wrap up the year and plan for 2010. There have been meetings, fires to put out, more meetings, and new projects surfacing.

In other random events: the tomatoes in my garden ripened, I report to new boss, Ellen Degeneres was named the new judge on American Idol, Deb Owen is planning all sorts of new stuff, and the intersection near my house has been overhauled with new pie-shaped medians and freshly painted lines.

It makes me wonder, how long was I really gone?

2 Comments

  1. Deb Owen said,

    Thursday, September 10, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    HA! I know that feeling! And thanks for the plug. (There’s a hint of one upcoming thing on the telecourses page on my site.) ;-)

    Glad you had a great vacation and welcome back!
    All the best!
    deb

  2. Alina Weldon said,

    Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    You were gone WAY too long. I too have noticed many typos on the letters coming home. I give it to Samantha as a quiz to see if she can find the typos!


Leave a Reply

