Finally Back at the Gym

I did it. I went back to the gym.

Over the past year, I’ve been going very sporadically. An abs class here, a pilates class there. I even ran a nice pilates streak for a few weeks around mid-Spring. I had not, however, gone back to Power Flex (weights) or Kickboxing class in a long, long time.

You know how it is. Life gets hectic, the gym feels hard, and you think “not tonight, I’ll start up again next week.” Like that ever happens.

After being away from those classes for so long I was scared of not being able to keep up. I was scared of shaky legs like in the last Power Flex class I went to. I was scared of facing the regulars lest they scoff me for not being there.

Over the last few weeks I kept saying to myself “this is the week.” And then I didn’t go. The following week, I’d say the same thing. I even printed up the class calendar and highlighted the classes I thought would fit my schedule. And I didn’t go.

Tonight I went. Despite it being Monday. Despite the busy days I’ve had lately. And even though there was the beckoning safety of a pilates class, I went to Power Flex. Because I’m tired of being tired. I’m tired of feeling weak when I lift heavy things.

I went to Power Flex. And I rocked it. Ok, maybe I wasn’t using 10 lb. weights like some of the regulars. And maybe I even put my 5 lb. weights down on the second set of lunges. But I did all the sets and I kept pace with the rest of the class. In fact, I think I did quite well with the upper body sets.

I came home feeling energetic. More importantly, I’m proud of myself for going back. Maybe this will boost my creative energy as well. And maybe it won’t be as hard to go to the next class.

What have you done for yourself lately?

3 Comments

  1. Heather said,

    Tuesday, July 28, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Way to go! I have done very little exercise lately. When I’m working, I at least ride my bike to work, but since being on holidays, I’ve been very, very lazy.

  2. mellyhocking said,

    Tuesday, July 28, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    go sherri! i’m not a big gym person but when I do go, i always feel good ALL day after. now I have just created a personal program to use, thinking about trying out yoga & more summertime hikes. :)

  3. Pink Heels said,

    Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 10:02 am

    I wish that I could adopt the French perspective on exercise. Afterall, you do not find a plethora of gyms in France. Exercise comes from moving in your day-to-day activities. However, I just don’t get it…they get minimal ‘real’ exercise, eat heavy calorie and fat laden foods, and yet, they are thin! NOT FAIR!


Leave a Reply

