Wreck This Journal: Week 7

Two glorious forms of wrecking occurred this week in my journal. Both involved tearing pages out and putting pages in.

First, I laundered a page. I ripped it out, folded it up and tucked it in the pocket of a pair of shorts. One wash cycle and 45 minutes of dryer time later, I let my hubby recover the balled up (but clean) page.

Pulling the washed page out of a pocket

Pulling the washed page out of a pocket

Carefully opening the washed page

Carefully opening the washed page

The beautiful end result

The beautiful end result

Second, and even more glorious, I swapped pages with the delightful LaWendula in Germany. That’s right, our pages crossed a good portion of the globe in just a few short days. Her page came to me on Monday, the same day that I put my page in the mail to her. She let me know yesterday that she had received it already.

I was so excited to see that envelope in the mailbox! She had used several pretty stamps on a bright pink envelope. So cheerful!

Stamps from LaWendula's letter to me

Stamps from LaWendula's letter to me

The page she sent could not have been more perfect. She glued in a page from Kate Chopin’s The Awakening.

LaWendula's <em>The Awakening</em> page

LaWendula's The Awakening page

What LaWendula didn’t realize is that Kate Chopin is my favorite classic author. I read The Awakening and a number of Chopin’s short stories as an English major in college. Her “The Story of an Hour” is one of my favorites.

A few months ago I purchased a copy of The Awakening and Selected Short Fiction so I could read it all over again. That book is next on my “to read” list (after I finish The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger).

<em>The Awakening</em> at the top of my own "to read" stack\

So to LaWendula: Thank you very much for sending me this beautiful page! I have given it a new home in a “clean” portion of my Wreck This Journal. I will think of you when I read The Awakening. I’m pleased to have you as a new friend.

To all of my fellow wreckers, Happy Wrecking!

If you’re confused as to what this Wreck This Journal stuff is all about or curious to see what other wrecking has transpired, here are some links to bring you up to speed.

  • Read Jamie’s explanation of the Wreck This Journal book blogging group
  • Catch up on my earlier Wreck This Journal posts
  • Check out what other wreckers are doing – lots of fantastic stories, photos, and videos! Sign up and jump in if you’re not already wrecking.
  • Advertisements

12 Comments

  1. LaWendula said,

    Friday, July 17, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Hi Sherri, nice to see the stamps, but I must tell you, that I haven’t chosen them, the post woman has. Because I have a little red box called the “mailbox on land”, my house is so far away from the village that post won’t be delivered there. So I will put all my mail in this box (with the money for stamps) and good postwoman takes it to the post office in the next town (Güstrow, the town of famous Ernst Barlach) and there she buys the stamps with my money. I’m glad she has chosen the light houses, because that fits nicely.
    I’m glad you like the page and I’m happy with your/my butterflies.

    So happy wrecking on and fine days with Edna and Robert :)

    PS My washing-page was a desaster, nothing left, only a few paperballs :(

    PPS: “The used world”- what an interesting title

  2. Lisa said,

    Friday, July 17, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Your washed page came out fabulous – reminds me of lace, or how when we were little we’d cut paper patterns, snow flakes and such.

    Isn’t the swap the best? Sounds like you got the perfect swap partner for you – I think we all ended up with just the right partner!

  3. magpie said,

    Friday, July 17, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    wrecking serendipity! you have to love it!

  4. judipatootie said,

    Friday, July 17, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    oh for the good ole days when you could leave money for your postman.. never here nymore

    great wrecking

  5. Jamie said,

    Friday, July 17, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Wow, that’s amazing! What a powerful synchronicity with The Awakening. I wonder if something is awakening in you or in your life. Amazing!

    The snowflake beauty of your laundered page is really special.

  6. Hybrid J said,

    Saturday, July 18, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Synchronicity … The Awakening … Something fantastic is working … what’s next? Great wreck work!

  7. Genie Sea said,

    Saturday, July 18, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    I love these happy “coincidences”! :)

  8. Sunday, July 19, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    I think your washed page turned out great, and oh, look, it’s Haven Kimmel on your bookshelf!

    Great Wrecking.

  9. NatashaMay said,

    Monday, July 20, 2009 at 4:34 am

    Nice wrecking! I put my page to wash just yesterday. Still waiting for it to dry. :)

  10. judipatootie said,

    Wednesday, July 22, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Love those gorgeous lighthouse stamps~!!

  11. Sharon said,

    Wednesday, July 22, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Great pictures! My washed page fell apart and I picked pieces off of the clothing! Not a pretty site. And now they are dry – what will I do with them? Glue back in or put in a ziplock bag? SO glad your page made in through intact! Did you wash on a gentle cycle?

  12. kim said,

    Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 1:52 am

    Well, they say there are no coincidences!! VERY interesting. I like what Jamie had to say about a potential awakening on your horizon.

    The washed page turned out great – wonderfully wrecked!!


Leave a Reply

