Wreck This Journal: Week 5

Another journal wrecking week is coming to a close. (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, see the links at the end of this post.)

As I’m sure my fellow wreckers can attest, some weeks are more inspired than others. Last week, not so much. This week, inspired!

My stepson has been playing with a box of balloons this week. Those long, skinny balloons that are meant for being shaped into animals or hats.

My husband, being a giant kid himself, had the idea to make a water balloon with one. It was meant to be some kind of fancy water cannon with which he could inflict torture on my stepson (or possibly me).

Fortunately for us his idea evolved. While standing at the sink alternately filling a balloon and twisting, he asked if he could smash his water balloon in my journal.

My reply? “Heck yeah! I’ll get the camera.”

We flipped the book open to “scrub this page” and let loose.

I ended up with 67 photographs from what was probably two minutes of wreckage. Here are some of the highlights:

Let the wrecking begin!

Let the wrecking begin!

The journal proves to be a formidable opponent

The journal proves to be a formidable opponent

Time to get serious

Time to get serious

Why swing one balloon when you can wield nunchucks...

Why swing one balloon when you can wield nunchucks...

Squeezing out the last few drips for good measure

Squeezing out the last few drips for good measure

Consider this journal scrubbed clean

Consider this journal scrubbed clean

Yes, I and the camera both got wet.

Happy wrecking!

Curious about what other wreckage transpired?

  • Catch up on my earlier Wreck This Journal posts
  • Check out what other wreckers are doing – lots of fantastic stories, photos, and videos! Sign up and jump in if you’re not already wrecking.
  • Advertisements

15 Comments

  1. LaWendula said,

    Friday, July 3, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Great action! :)
    Hey, have you seen on Jamie’s site- we are swap-partners! I’m really looking forward to it. Although it must be ennoying for you to have a more expensive postage now, because I’m not in the states.
    Anyway, happy wrecking week!
    Best, LaWendula

  2. Lisa said,

    Friday, July 3, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    I thought I recognized that wonderfully crazy man, so I scrolled back and yep, I was right, it is the same nut with the baseball bat! You two must have a blast everyday! Very cool waterballoons and fun fun fun.

    Say hi to your husband and son for me – they are master honorary wrecker!

  3. Friday, July 3, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Wrecking as a family event — fantabulous! :)

  4. Sherri said,

    Friday, July 3, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    LaWendula- Not annoying at all! In fact, I’m super excited to be swapping with someone from Germany. I went there in the early 1990s for 10 days and loved it. I stayed with the nicest family in Kaiserslautern.

    Lisa and Kara- My hubby and stepson are the best! We have lots of crazy fun together.

  5. Grammy said,

    Friday, July 3, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    That was great and so much fun. Have a wonderful week.

  6. Snap said,

    Friday, July 3, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    How wonderful to get the whole family involved! Too much fun!

  7. gemma said,

    Friday, July 3, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Water balloons! Good idea!!!

  8. Saturday, July 4, 2009 at 1:51 am

    I think those two are having waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much fun with your journal. Maybe they need a book of their own? Just sayin’. LOL

    You make a fabulous team! WRECK ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. LaWendula said,

    Saturday, July 4, 2009 at 5:03 am

    Sherri, if you want, send me an e-mail (lawendel42@web.de) for further details…when how what..;)

  10. Genie Sea said,

    Saturday, July 4, 2009 at 11:20 am

    The best thing? The smiles on their faces! That’s what it’s all about baby! :)

  11. Toni said,

    Saturday, July 4, 2009 at 11:22 am

    Love it. Good to see the whole family getting in on the wrecking. Have a great week 6.

  12. NatashaMay said,

    Saturday, July 4, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Poor boy! :) Was he willing to hold the journal or was he forced? :):):) Great wracking!

  13. Kristin said,

    Sunday, July 5, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Fabulous!! I took about 30 pictures of my husband making a sandwich, so nearly 70 for balloons, water and a journal – you were awesome!

  14. kim said,

    Sunday, July 5, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    “Wait – I’ll get my camera” Hee-hee-hee! That cracked me up!! They guys make a great wrecking power team and the grins on their faces – priceless! You’re right – you’re back full force :)

  15. judipatootie said,

    Wednesday, July 8, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    can I rent your Husband ? Love the ballon bit!1


Leave a Reply

