Happy Joy Rebel Day!

Today is the very first Joy Rebel Day. Joy Rebel Day is being started by Ms. Joy Rebel herself, the lovely Brandi Reynolds. (Read her early announcement post to see what it’s all about.)

A message of joy for passersby

A message of joy for passersby

I adore Brandi. She embodies true joy, finding it in places others might overlook.

One of the simple joys Brandi reminded me about is sidewalk chalk. So a few nights ago, when I spotted the bucket of sidewalk chalk sitting dusty in the garage, I knew my family was about to partake in a mini-adventure of sorts.

To start things off, I wrote a birthday greeting for my stepson who turned 12 on Monday.

A birthday wish in sidewalk chalk

A birthday wish in sidewalk chalk

Then I called him out to the driveway and things went crazy.

Happiness is... sidewalk chalk

Happiness is... sidewalk chalk

We drew pictures and played hopscotch. We wrote messages by the sidewalk for people who pass by. It was a blast.

Where can you find simple joys? Let that inner child out to play.

Happy Joy Rebel Day!

6 Comments

  1. Lance said,

    Wednesday, July 1, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Hi Sherri,
    I love it (all the chalk all over the place!)!! Way awesome!

    Joy Rebel Day – what a great concept, huh! And, being here – I’m feeling it – I can’t help but smile!!

    I acted like a mummy at work, earlier this morning. People looked at me strangely (and laughed!). I didn’t even think about this being a good way to let the joy rebel out, when I did it. Even though I’m fully on-board with this awesome idea of Brandi’s had. Hmmm…maybe will just happen just because it’s on my brain today!

    Anyway, I think what you’ve done is so cool!

    Keep on being that joy rebel!!

  2. Wednesday, July 1, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Hi Sherri!

    How fun to open up Google Reader and see this great post about Joy Rebel Day! Don’t forget to tune in tonight at 7 PM Central Time to my LIVE interview online (audio) with Brandi herself about Joy Rebel Day!

    http://www.blogtalkradio.com/cirklagirl

    As for myself, although I did not have such fun with any chalk – I took my daughter out shopping last night since I was not going to see her tonight.. we had a Girl’s Night Out and went out to a fancy restaurant (Applebee’s…smile)

    Today I took the day off work (in order to fully appreciate this special day) and I did a little shopping myself and went to some places that I rarely go because I am too busy! It was great. Now I am at home, just catching up with blogs – my OTHER favorite thing to do!

    It was a little tough to try and do JUST what I enjoy doing because I really do enjoy my life every day, so it was hard to do something DIFFERENT since I like what I always do… but it was fun anyways.

    Hope that you and your readers can definitely tune in tonight to our show!

  3. Wednesday, July 1, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    […] of my Hump Day Hero selections) and there was a post about Joy Rebel Day! Of course, after reading Sherri’s post on Life After Web, I knew that I had found my Hump Day Hero. (I had thought about making Brandi the Hump Day Hero […]

  4. brandi said,

    Wednesday, July 1, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    that looks like so much fun. :-)

  5. Sherri said,

    Wednesday, July 1, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Cirklagirl- Thank you so much for the Hump Day Hero acknowledgement. That is awesome! I’d love to leave a comment on some of the Cirkla blog posts, but it is asking for a login that I don’t know how to sign up for. Can you help me out?

    Lance- Thank you for stopping by and leaving some thoughts! Joy Rebel Day is an extraordinary idea. Brandi has been an inspiration in so many ways

    Brandi- See note above to Lance. You rock!

  6. Sunday, July 5, 2009 at 10:02 am

    […] from July 1 – 8th Artcetera – Finding Joy at the DMV Set the Rebel Free – Lance from Jungle of Life Happy Joy Rebel Day by Sherri of Life After Web Joy Lost, Joy Found by Jan Lundy of Awake is […]


Leave a Reply

