Wreck This Journal: Week 4

Cut through multiple pages to make fringe

Cut through multiple pages to make fringe

After playing baseball with Wreck This Journal last Friday night, I have to admit I was at a loss for what to do next.

I was so proud of the idea and ecstatic that I got a great photo of it on my phone. It was a perfect act of joyous spontaneity. After all my piddly little wrecking exercises, I’d raised my personal bar quite high. I was no longer following the rules of destruction. I was actually wrecking.

Since I can’t force spontaneity, this week I simply returned to the suggestions within the book. I’m sure another impromptu joyful wrecking will occur. At least I proved to myself that I could do it.

The next best thing seemed to be rising to Jamie’s challenge of doing the thing we fear most. For me that’s the food page. To ease myself in, I bit a grape in half and smeared it on the page. It’s not exactly messy like, say, spaghetti sauce might be. But it’s a start.

Here are the tragedies my journal endured this week:

  1. Rubbed in infield dirt and gravel at the baseball field
  2. Ripped out and crumpled up a page. Cat batted it around the living room.
  3. Hubby wrote in it with a dirty stick. Since the stick is no longer pressed in the book, that probably means it’s loose in my purse. I should probably go look for that.
  4. Writing with a dirty stick

    Writing with a dirty stick

  5. Grape smearing
  6. Cut through multiple pages. For some reason, this was extremely gratifying.
  7. Holes poked with a pencil (not inside the dotted lines)
  8. Drawing thick and thin lines with a pencil
  9. Made a paper airplane (still in tact in book)
  10. Folded a paper airplane

    Folded a paper airplane

  11. Completely colored a page wherein I allowed myself to be okay with my art skills be elementary
  12. Completely colored a page

    Completely colored a page

  13. Dripped nail polish and smooshed the book to make a pattern
  14. Smooshed nail polish

    Smooshed nail polish

Happy wrecking!

Curious about what other wreckage transpired?

16 Comments

  1. organicsyes said,

    Thursday, June 25, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Great idea…to just go back to the pages and let them run the ideas for a while…thanks:)

  2. magpie said,

    Friday, June 26, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    i love the nail polish smooshing.
    also the word smooshed.
    i might have to find me some nail polish this week.

    also like the fringe – reminds me of those books we had as kids where you changed the bodies and heads and feet of various people/animals…hmmm….

  3. LaWendula said,

    Friday, June 26, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    The nail polish looks like petals from a rose. A kiss from a rose, then, hm?

  4. Lisa said,

    Friday, June 26, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Fringe and the pretty pretty nail polish page!

    And you just know, that stick that is lost in your purse? It’s gonna resurface at the most awkward possible moment – like when you’re looking for a pen at a job interview or something! “uh, Sherri, why do you have a stick in your purse?” Hey, if they don’t think it’s funny, you don’t want that job anyway.

  5. Connie said,

    Friday, June 26, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    The colored page reminds me of what my kiddos in school do!! You captured that childlike playfulness—dontcha love it!?!?!?!!!!!

    Peace & Love.

  6. Friday, June 26, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    You must find that stick – you never know when you might need it to destroy another page! It’s a part of your journal now. Perhaps you should make a stick holder and attach it to the book!

  7. Janet said,

    Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 12:16 am

    oohh! nail polish! what a great idea! did you find the stick? thanks for sharing!

  8. Jean said,

    Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 12:52 am

    What good clean fun! I’m struggling with the food thing, too… I did a little and now the pages stick together. I am fighting all instincts to pull the pages apart. Smile.

    I hope you are having a great time! BTW – the baseball was INSPIRED!

  9. Hybrid J said,

    Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Love you nail polish work, well done! :)

  10. Genie Sea said,

    Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Funtastic! Love the way the nail polish page looks! I was totally planning on doing the same :)

  11. kim said,

    Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    I was feeling the same after a big wreck – now what! But you’re right – back to the prompts for now and something will come. We’ll trust our inner wrecking geniuses :) and meanwhile – the nail polish turned out tres cool!! Sometimes the little stuff is big stuff, too.

  12. Ros said,

    Sunday, June 28, 2009 at 7:41 am

    I love your art! The fringing looks lovely as well…. Might have to give that a go at some point…

  13. Kristin said,

    Sunday, June 28, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    I just did the cutting through several pages prompt and was quite satisfied as well. But I may have to use the fringe idea from you – I love the way it looks! You got in quite a bit of wrecking this week – Great job!

  14. judi parker said,

    Tuesday, June 30, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    smushed fingernail polish.. nice!! My Journal is jealous , she wants to play baseball

  15. Wednesday, July 1, 2009 at 12:01 am

    I can see how it might be tough to top tht baseball experience, but you’ll find the zone again I’m sure. The nailpolish really is pretty — funny how the drips and blots turn into eyecandy art along the way. Keep on wrecking!!!!

  16. Wednesday, July 1, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    […] was poking around in Sherri’s blog (Life After Web) and she mentioned something about wrecking a journal… “Wreck a journal?” I […]


Leave a Reply

