Photo Friday: From the Park and Marina

This was my fourth week of photography class and our second lab. We ventured off campus this time to shoot at a nearby park with a marina.

I’m finally learning how to manually work with the exposure settings. It’s still kind of a slow thought process followed by some trial and error, but it’s a vast improvement over the first lab.

It was another overcast foreboding evening. Fortunately the rain held off until after the photo shoot. Still, it made for more gray photos. I played with composition to work in color, played with distance and close-ups.

The final count was around 210 photographs that I shot in those two hours. I’m even happy with how many of them came out. (Plus, no all black photos this time!)

Here are a few of my favorites:

Bench by the lake

Bench by the lake

Rope on a mast

Rope on a mast

Grate around a tree

Grate around a tree

On a related note, I am now on Flickr, so if you’d like to see some of my other photos venture on over to www.flickr.com/photos/lifeafterweb. (There is also a link in the left sidebar of this blog.)

Happy Friday!

2 Comments

  1. organicsyes said,

    Friday, June 19, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Rope on a mast…that one captures my attention. The lines, the image it creates…holding together, yet is looks old and ready to retire.

    Cool class!

  2. Sherri said,

    Friday, June 19, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Thanks! We had a few shots the teacher suggested we take, but most of the time we were on our own. I like getting detail photos, so I just went around and did my thing. It has been fun.


Leave a Reply

