Wreck This Journal: Week 3

First I want to thank all of the people who visited and commented my earlier WTJ posts! It is incredible to be in the company of so many amazing, witty, funny, wonderful people. Thank you so much for dropping by. Wreck on!

We are now entering week 3 of Wreck This Journal. The first two weeks have been a blast, as well as a learning process.

The first thing I did this week was mail my journal to myself. I took it to my office last Thursday with a heap of stamps. I taped it closed reveling in how glorious the track of destruction would be when I ripped it back off. I addressed it with a borrowed blue Sharpie then adhered a return address label.

All taped up

All taped up

I asked the guy in the mail room to weigh the book and tell me how much the postage would be. He paused. I’m not sure if it was because I handed him a book that was taped shut or if it was because he noticed the From and To address were identical. No matter. The cost to mail would be $2.24.

Two sunflowers and four Edgar Allan Poe stamps later, I reluctantly dropped my journal in the mail bin. In NY. A whole state away from my house in NJ.

Stamps after the tape ripped them off

Stamps after the tape ripped them off

Then the withdrawal set in. I wondered how long it would be before I held my journal again. I despaired over thinking it might get lost in the mail.

Over the weekend I lived vicariously through all of my fellow wreckers, reading their posts, looking at their photos, watching their videos. Each one spurred brilliant new ideas. Alas, there was no journal for me to wreck.

So I waited.

My journal made it home on Monday. I felt relief. I felt excitement. I felt fear over taking on some of the more difficult pages.

The journal back home safe in my mailbox

The journal back home safe in my mailbox

I yanked off the tape. The cover was remarkably resilient, but I managed to pull off the black layer in some places.

After ripping the tape off

After ripping the tape off

Ahhh, that’s better.

Here are the tragedies my journal endured this week:

  1. Mailing (as aforementioned)
  2. Crumpling the instruction page
  3. Covering a page with white things
  4. Cover this page with white things

    Cover this page with white things

  5. Scratching with a metal ruler
  6. Writing on the sides of the pages
  7. My husband's not-so-secret message

    My husband's not-so-secret message

    My new clean curse phrase

    My new clean curse phrase

Keeping it in decent condition to mail it was my previous excuse for keeping the wreckage mild. Now that mailing is done, I need to step it up. (Cue Jaws theme music.)

Will I be able to do it? Time will tell. Check back next week.

Happy wrecking!

Update 6/20/09: Read Wreck This Journal: Week 3 part 2 (where my husband and I play baseball with the journal)

Curious about what other wreckage transpired?

22 Comments

  1. Jessica said,

    Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    That is a very creative – and fun looking – idea. I didn’t even know something this destructively fun existed.

  2. Friday, June 19, 2009 at 10:12 am

    You are so so so brave — I’m going to aim for showering and burning this week, but not sure I can bring myself to mail it off yet :) Lots of happy wrecking vibes to you!
    k-

  3. Snap said,

    Friday, June 19, 2009 at 10:58 am

    I’m talking myself into the mailing part. What fun! Happy wrecking!

  4. alex said,

    Friday, June 19, 2009 at 11:48 am

    I haven’t mailed my journal yet..but I know I will feel so relieved when it comes back to me! great week of wrecking!

  5. gemma said,

    Friday, June 19, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Yes! Thankfully I have noticed these pages are quite resilient. I am afraid my journal will get lost in the mail….how pathetic is that?

  6. organicsyes said,

    Friday, June 19, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Whoo hooo! Happy Wrecking!

  7. Cynthia said,

    Friday, June 19, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    You go girl! Those stamps are awesome! Great description of the week of angst — waiting, watching…

  8. Lisa said,

    Friday, June 19, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    very brave of you to stick it in the post! I love the funny looks we’re getting off people – mine was when I lost my page on the tube!

  9. Ros said,

    Friday, June 19, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Excellent! I want to do the mailing bit but my journal needs a little repair first!

  10. Kristin said,

    Friday, June 19, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I was going to mail the journal right away, but now I’m too interested in wrecking! Good for you for mailing yours and for ripping that tape off!!

  11. Genie Sea said,

    Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 9:12 am

    You’re good! You went for the mailing first! I’m thinking that will be one of the last things I do because I will be anxious for its return! Maybe I should do that now :) Love your husband’s “secret” message :) The consensus is if you do one truly destructive thing, the rest are a piece of cake which you can smear on the cake! :)

  12. Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 9:55 am

    […] Read Wreck This Journal: Week 3 (the first part- where the I mailed the journal) Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Wreck This Journal: Week 3Doctors Without Dollars […]

  13. Lori said,

    Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 10:47 am

    I love the stamps you used to mail it :). I have to agree with Genie Sea here and say that once I did something really destructive to the journal my fear of really wrecking the journal went away. I took mine in the shower and totally soaked and soaped it. I’m looking forward to more wrecking this weekend.

  14. elinjanne said,

    Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    I was so exited when my journal came back to me in the mail – and felt so let down when I ripped the tape of. The 24 hour ot travelling and all that tape didn`t leave a mark. Not a scratch!
    Wish you the best weekend, and keep wrecking.
    -elin-

  15. kim said,

    Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    What an act of trust and bravery to mail it to yourself. I’m afraid to do it for just the very reasons you mentioned (will it come back to me, will the person at the post office think I’m nuts for mailing something to myself…) Hooray for jumping.

    PS: I’m adopting your clean curse phrase :)

  16. Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    I’m adopting your clean curse phrase too.

    I’m glad it survived the mail from NY to NJ! Great wreckage.

  17. Heather said,

    Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    Hmmm… that was a smart idea to mail it before the major wreckage. I might not be able to tape mine together very easily now that it’s been around the block a few times.

  18. Hybrid J said,

    Sunday, June 21, 2009 at 8:48 am

    I haven’t done the mailing yet but I could already imagined how I would miss it greatly. It’s quite a amazing to realize that how I’ve become attached to the journal. Great wreck work of yours! :)

  19. Jamie said,

    Sunday, June 21, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Awesome! The stamps you got are gorgeous and how cool to have it arrive back home in your mailbox – like a boomarang. Hey, that’s some good inspiration to throw it!

    I love your clean cuss word! Mine is Fuzzy Bunnies, which I got from sister ages ago.

  20. Monday, June 22, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    It came back!!! Must admit I was pretty dubious.
    When you mentioned Jaws, my mind went straight to can-opener. Wonder if it could crunch through the book?
    ps Now I have a new ear worm: FuzzyBunnies’n’PantsFuzzyBunnies’n’Pants.Gee,Thanks everybody!

  21. Thursday, June 25, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Oh, i do love mailing, but am so concerned about Canada Post losing it along the way! Now that would be so sad!

    But, thanks! I might just do it when i am away in Vancouver and then mail it to Toronto next week! That would be an excitement!

    l.

  22. Wednesday, July 1, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    […] a journal?” I thought… “What is that?” So I poked around a bit more. Here is another post about it. Her pictures looked really fun and I was inspired in a passive sort of way (not active yet… […]


Leave a Reply

