Photo Friday: Pheasant

This week’s Photo Friday took a bit of research on my part. I captured this shot a few weeks ago when I saw an interesting rather large bird walk through my yard. My camera happened to be handy so I snatched it and stepped out on my porch as quietly as possible.

I managed to get a few pictures before the bird took flight to escape the crazy woman. Here the bird had frozen while determining the appropriate course of action. (Pose for a picture or run like mad?)

Since I know extremely little about birds, I somehow categorized this as a quail. No, I don’t know why. As I prepared this post, I figured I better see if I could figure out what it really was.

A quick search on “bird identifier” turned up WhatBird.com. The site has a search tool that lets you begin narrowing down bird choices by selecting as much information as you would like about the region, the size of the bird, body shape, beak shape, colors, etc.

In about 5 minutes I had slimmed down to a list of 11 birds. I saw “Ring-necked Pheasant and thought “my bird has a ring around its neck. Voila!

So here you have it- a ring-necked pheasant.

Happy Friday!

Pheasant in my yard

Pheasant in my yard

1 Comment

  1. Cynthia said,

    Friday, June 12, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    O thank you! This is a beauty of a bird and a photo!!!


Leave a Reply

