Wreck This Journal: Week 1

You know all those books you have in pristine condition lined up like soldiers on your bookshelf? This isn’t that.

Starting today I am participating in my first book blogging adventure and I will be tearing it up. Perhaps literally.

I found out about this little party on Twitter last night. (Thanks to @victoriashmoria for the tip!)

The book blogging group, called The Next Chapter, is hosted by Jamie Ridler of Starshyne Productions. It is open for anyone to join at any time (even in the middle of a book).

The book we are just beginning is Wreck This Journal by Keri Smith. As the name implies, the challenge is to get this book dirty. Unabashedly muck it up. As a person who rarely even dog-ears pages anymore (though there was that one incident with the book and the rain… sorry hubby!), I’m looking forward to unleashing my inner rebel.

Lots of fun people will be posting links to their own blogs to share their Wreck This Journal stories. I will be posting here each week.

The first step of wrecking my journalFor my first act of wreckage, I carried my copy of Wreck This Journal in the rain. On purpose this time. It’s already speckled with a nice little wave (as shown in the photo at left).

If you want to partake in some healthy destructive behavior with me, see Jamie’s write up with all the details. It is free, solely for fun, and there are no obligations to actually blog about your experience if you don’t want to.

We start today, June 5, and run through July 31. Don’t be shy about jumping in midcourse. I just joined last night and picked up the book today.

As Victoria said to me on Twitter, “Can’t wait to get wrecked together. Oh, wait, that’s something different. ;-)” Well, you get the point.

Happy wrecking!

16 Comments

  1. Jamie said,

    Friday, June 5, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    WTG! What a great start – walking in the rain with your journal sounds delicious. I’m glad you’re on the adventure – it’s going to be awesome to get wrecked together, lol!

  2. Saturday, June 6, 2009 at 2:05 am

    Right on, Sherri! Getting wrecked in style!

    Can you send some rain to Phoenix? I’ll probably have to resort to the hose.

    Ooh…I’m imagining leaving the book out in the 100+ degree heat with some crayons between the pages.

    Wow – the creative juices are flowing already!

  3. Jean said,

    Saturday, June 6, 2009 at 2:41 am

    I’m participating too! I’m nervous to wreck a perfectly good book, but I’m raring to go.

  4. Genie Sea said,

    Saturday, June 6, 2009 at 7:13 am

    A lot of us, I have a feeling are in the same boat. The thought of purposely destroying a book is almost sacrilegious. That’s why it will be so much FUN! :)

  5. Sherri said,

    Saturday, June 6, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Jamie- Thanks for the encouragement! Walking in the rain with my journal was quite fun actually. I have since also tea-stained it and my husband, not wanting to miss any of the fun, flung the journal across the room.

    Victoria- Ah, yes. I remember praying for rain in Phoenix. I’ll see what I can do to send some your way. I am impressed with your idea of taking advantage of the hot Phoenix sun!

    Jean and GenieSea- Aack! Wrecking a book! It’s turning out to be easier than I expected. I guess all I needed was permission.

    Glad to be part of the journey with all of you!

  6. Tabitha said,

    Saturday, June 6, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    How very cool–and of course prior to June 5 it rained here for days on end-and on the 5th everything was dry and the skies clear.
    You’re off to a great start!

  7. B said,

    Saturday, June 6, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Yay! I’m still nervous but starting to really look forward to wreck with you all! Perhaps I should step outside with mine right now!

  8. Lori said,

    Saturday, June 6, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    You are off to a great start. I’m participating too and just got my book yesterday. It’s going to be a fun adventure. It’s nice to have such a great group of bloggers to “wreck” with.

  9. Nadia said,

    Saturday, June 6, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    in the rain? how fun! and the husband flinging it across the room? awesome! looking forward to more wrecking stories. ciao!

  10. melita said,

    Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    looking forward to sharing in the rest of the wrecking journey with you :)

  11. Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    gee here I was thinking I was so smart for bringing my waterproof bag out in the rain when all along it was a missed opportunity for wreckage. walking away smacking head :)

  12. Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Glad you are wrecking. Enjoy.

  13. Lisa said,

    Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Oh perfect. I was thinking of sitting out in the rain with mine too – except all our “rain” lately is connected with lightning too. Tho, if the book got struck by lightning, that’d be a pretty awesome page!

  14. patti h said,

    Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Happy Wrecking!!

  15. Sherri said,

    Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    I’m so happy you are all part of the fun!

    Lisa- Having a book struck by lightening would take the cake. Just don’t be nearby when it happens.

  16. Thursday, June 11, 2009 at 8:50 am

    […] wrecking commenced last Friday. (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, read the Week 1 post about the Wreck This Journal book blogging group.) The journal in its current […]


Leave a Reply

