Photo Friday: Details (and unburying my creative side)

For this edition of Photo Friday, I am sharing the photograph I use as my desktop picture on my old laptop. I love the rich colors, patterns, and movement.

One of the many beautiful details at Emeril's Tchoup Chop

One of the many beautiful details at Emeril's Tchoup Chop

People who see it often ask, “What is that?”

It is the front side of the host desk at Emeril’s Tchoup Chop in Orlando, Florida.

Two summers ago I went there with my now husband and stepson while on vacation. I was in awe of the details all around the restaurant including a raised lily pad pond stretched across the center of the room, the tile mosaics, wall sconces, cozy booths with tie-back curtains. It was all so beautiful.

During the brief moment while the host looked up our reservation, I snapped this photo without taking time to frame it or fuss with camera settings on my point-and-shoot. When I got home and saw it on my computer screen, I was delighted.

After hearing my explanation, a few people have said, “how creative!” I didn’t really think about it at the time. I just wanted to capture a memory of something I liked.

As you may have noticed from my photography burst lately, I’m trying to honor my creative side, a side that sometimes gets buried since I work in more of a technical field.

I wrote about this technical/creative struggle to Deb Owen recently (a fellow blogger who I’m proud to call a friend even though we haven’t met in person), and she suggested I try writing morning pages. In a nutshell, the morning pages exercise presented by Julia Cameron in The Artist’s Way that suggests free flow writing three pages first thing every morning.

I’ve been working on morning pages for about a month now and it’s amazing how my creative side has begun emerging from hiding. I’m feeling inspired again.

When I wrote to thank Deb she told me she was considering starting a creativity training program (Deb is a master at training programs). Now, just a few weeks later she is debuting Creative Pathways, based on The Artist’s Way and other works by other gurus like Martha Beck. I am so excited!

By the way, if you want to check it out, she has a discount running right now (20% off until May 22, plus an extra 10% that she’s letting me share with you in a secret sale for those of us who know her- I told you Deb was great!). She also just added a free audio download with an introduction to the program so you can see what it’s about first.

As for me, I’ll be continuing with my morning pages and letting my creative side run a little wild. Maybe I’ll “see” you at Creative Pathways.

Happy Friday!

2 Comments

  1. Deb Owen said,

    Friday, May 15, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Sherri!

    This is so awesome! I’m so touched by what you wrote.
    (And I can’t WAIT to tell you what’s been going on this week and what’s coming up! ;-) )

    Thank you so much for this.

    You ROCK!!
    All the best!
    deb

  2. brandi said,

    Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    ‘there is no such thing as an uncreative person’-eric butterworth

    I am so glad you are allowing your creative side to blossom!!

    (and I love the photo)


Leave a Reply

