One of my favorite childhood memories: Smothers Brothers

When I was growing up, my parents used to take me to see my grandparents in Florida every summer. One of my grandmas had a few video tapes that we used to request seeing while we were there. For me it was the Smothers Brothers playing with the Boston Pops on a 1980s television special.

In case you aren’t familiar with the Smothers Brothers, they were two brothers who sang folk songs interspersed with comedy. They had their own TV show back in the black-and-white days before being fired for being controversial.

Back to the point, my grandmother, bless her heart, sat through this video with me almost daily during every summer visit for probably 10 years. I couldn’t get enough. It didn’t matter that I knew it word-for-word, I laughed just as hard in every viewing.

I’ve tried finding Smothers Brothers videos online a couple times over the past few years and was always unsuccessful. Tonight, however, was my lucky night. I found the four songs that made up that TV special and I have been chuckling away in front of my computer, still singing along and anticipating every line.

This week I am going to share one video each day, starting tonight with part one.

Part 1: Boil That Cabbage Down

Come back tomorrow for Part 2!

1 Comment

  1. Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 9:07 am

    […] May 14, 2009 at 9:00 am (fun, humor) In case you have missed the last couple of days posts, I explained on Monday that one of my favorite childhood memories was wearing thin my grandma’s video tape of the […]


Leave a Reply

