Snow Day Fun?

Snow boots on the deck

Snow boots on the deck

I remember snow days when I was a kid. First thing after my morning alarm went off, I would turn on the radio to listen for my county to be announced as closed. Of course, it didn’t happen as often as I would have liked, but on the rare occasions when it did I settled back under my covers in quiet victory.

A notification call from my stepson’s school came late last night as everyone prepared for bed. The snow was already proving ominous enough with a forecast that showed no signs of letting up so I guess the school board figured there was no need to delay a decision.

Still as I woke up this morning I looked out the window to determine my chances of getting to work and quickly realized it wasn’t going to happen. We already had about 8 inches of snow and it continued falling furiously. You could no longer tell where the street gave way to the yard or, for that matter, where the front steps were.

I opened the door to let my dog out and found it was just too much for his small stature. I had to don my boots in order to carry him to a shallower snow drift.

To make matters a bit more interesting our heater broke this weekend. We (and by “we” I mean my multi-talented oh-so-wonderful hubby) tried a few fixes and ultimately ended up replacing the thermostat which seemed to have fixed the problem. This morning, however, we walked downstairs to an arctic living space. I have spent most of my day next to the fireplace with a down blanket and a warm lapdog.

Midday we headed outside to clear the driveway and sidewalks so we are able to leave for work tomorrow. The job was going well, if not a little slowly, until the snow blower got a flat tire. While my husband persevered I headed inside to get the fire roaring again.

When I stepped into the foyer, I was greeted by my stepson running down the hall wearing oven mitts and his friend coming the other way wielding a Swiffer. There are no words to capture how disturbing (and just plain funny) it is to walk in on that scene. Obviously I had to ask for an explanation.

It seems the wind had blown the front door open and a brazen little bird took that opportunity to seek shelter in our office. It evaded us for about an hour and a half before we corralled it back outside by crafting a walled passage out of a blanket and a coat. During the process the bird managed to land on my husband’s finger as if he were a Disney princess.

Needless to say this snow day was a far cry from the carefree variety of my childhood. All the same, it will be one I never forget.

The dog steals my chair by the fire (and doesnt look remorseful at all)

The dog steals my chair by the fire (and doesn't look remorseful at all)

The bird chose a high, unreachable perch inside my house

The bird chose a high, unreachable perch inside my house

The bird through my zoom lens

The bird through my zoom lens

3 Comments

  1. brandi said,

    Monday, March 2, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    awesome pics!!! and the image of the bird alighting on your hubs finger is hilarious!

  2. iheartfilm said,

    Monday, March 2, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    We actually got some snow here in Virginia. :)

    Chris

  3. Sherri said,

    Monday, March 2, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Oh no. School has already been cancelled for tomorrow and I’m almost out of fire wood!


Leave a Reply

