“Gorgeous” Weather is Relative to Locale

I never thought I would be excited by 30 degree weather, but today that happened. After what lately has been a lot of 18-25 degree walks in to the office, I was thrilled to see the temperature was already up to 30 when I set out this morning. (When your walk is about a mile, weather makes a big difference in the commuting experience.)

Later in the day I went for another walk to pick up lunch. It was up to 48 degrees and I commented to my colleague how gorgeous it was outside. Gorgeous in this case meant I wore a light weight scarf and winter coat and was quite comfortable. No hat or gloves. No shivering. I could almost imagine spring on its way.

My colleague replied that he, too, had gorgeous weather. Of course, his was outside his Florida office where it was 74 degrees. This is probably a more universally accepted use of “gorgeous” than my experience. To each their own.

But then I think back to my Phoenix days. Gorgeous there meant anything lower than 90 (and definitely did NOT refer to anything 115+). In fact I found 90 degrees to be fairly pleasant in Phoenix, whereas in Jersey the same temperature is sweltering. (And yes, I know all about the humidity factor, but trust me, dry heat is what hits you when you open your oven door. Do you want to walk into that?)

Just thinking about that heat makes my heart (and all cool weather thoughts) go out to a friend who just moved to Cambodia. Of the weather she says,

it’s hot here; like don’t even bother to shower because you’ll be drenched in ten hot. and it’s only the mild season.

I certainly hope she doesn’t spontaneously combust! For all I know she may be longing for a breezy 100.

When you get down to it, gorgeous weather is relative to your locale and your state of mind. One guy’s 74 is another girl’s 48.

At least I know I’m not alone. Up in Boston @leximaven twittered that she was going outside to enjoy “some fresh 45-degree air.”

Here’s hoping that wherever you are, your weather is gorgeous. Whatever that means.

Leave a Reply

