Simple Pleasures: Being the “Cool” Parent

When you are a parent, including “bonus” moms like me, being seen as cool by your kid induces a sort of rush, especially since those moments are often fleeting.

While driving with my stepson and his friend, I overheard their discussion on music. They were asking each other about songs they knew, singing lines here and there (a simple pleasure in itself- listening to kids sing), when one of them mentioned Madonna’s “4 Minutes” and they both sang the one line they know.

So I asked if they wanted to hear that song because I could plug in my iPod. The answer was a resounding, “YES!!!! You have that song?!?!” I obliged and they started mimicking the beat, singing at the top of their lungs, “only got 4 minutes to save the world,” (because again, that’s the only line they know).

As I was dropping off my stepson’s friend at his house, the next song in my playlist came up: “Let it Rock” by Kevin Rudolf & Lil Wayne. My stepson leaned toward the front seat and said, “you have this song, too? Sherri, how do you have all these good new songs?”

My reply, “I’m awesome like that.” For a few extra cool points, when we got home I helped him load those songs and a few others to his iPod.

Even in short bursts, I will take cool when I can get it. After all, he’ll be a teenager soon and I suspect my chances will only get slimmer.

1 Comment

  1. brandi said,

    Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    talk about winning major cool points!


Leave a Reply

