Singing Salvation Army Guy

The singing Salvation Army guy

The singing Salvation Army guy

Last week while leaving the train station to start my trek in to the office, I was roused from my grogginess by a new experience.

On the stairs leading to street level, I was met with a Christmas song. As I tried to remember if I had ever heard music playing in the stairwell before, I realized there was no music, only a single male voice. At that point I categorized it as a street performer, likely using Christmas spirit to make some extra money.

When I reached the street, I found the source of the jolly tune… the Salvation Army guy? He didn’t wield a bell. He didn’t wear a Santa hat. Instead he had a microphone hooked up to a portable speaker next to the trademark hanging red bucket.

In that moment, I was mentally transported from a mobbed train station to a winter wornderland. Though I forced myself not to sing along, I couldn’t stop smiling.

I have now caught several of his appearances featuring such timeless classics as The Christmas Song and White Christmas.

What a way to catch attention. May the bucket overfloweth.

1 Comment

  1. Friday, January 30, 2009 at 11:57 am

    […] Friday, January 23, 2009 at 9:02 am (fun, life, photography) During the holidays I enjoyed sharing photos on this blog of such joys as holiday displays and the singing Salvation Army guy. […]


Leave a Reply

