Christmas in New York

img_5412

Until just a few short years ago, New York was a bit of a myth to me.  That may sound odd, but really the only time I saw the city was on the magical box that is television.  Now that I work in New York, it is shedding its “in a land far, far away” status.

Now, I gaze up at the Empire State Building while waiting for the crosswalk light to change.  I know the Macy’s that brings us Santa every year in the Thanksgiving Day Parade.  I can mesmerize over the grand twinkling of the tree at Rockefeller Center.

With December here, Christmas trees and wreaths are sprouting all around.  I snapped this photo on my walk from the office to the train station this evening.  This particular tree of lights marks the famed Macy’s and, yes, it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.

2 Comments

  1. Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 12:34 am

    Oh my godddd, one of my biggest dreams is to ice skate in Rockefeller center on Christmas eve.

    I envy you so much living in new york :-P.

  2. Taylor said,

    Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    New York is unbeatable during the holidays! Now is the time to walk all around and see the window displays, the lights, the throngs of European tourists… Glad you’re getting to know this city, Sherri– it is truly a world unto itself.


Leave a Reply

