Media Coverage of Politics Leaves Me Asking, “What’s the point?”

This year’s presidential election has caused quite a stir. Tonight’s vice-presidential debate has kept the candidates in the news all week. There is, quite obviously, a lot of media coverage and I try to keep up. Every so often a story comes up in my RSS reader that makes me scratch my head and question the point. Today was no exception.

This morning Politico ran a story called, “Women ex-governors divided on Palin.” I couldn’t help myself. I had to see if they actually wasted their time studying female former governors. They did. They tried to speak to the current female governors as well, however, it seems they were either not willing or not available.

Politico came to this conclusion:

…among her class of trailblazing female governors, Palin is not universally embraced for her accomplishments.

Not universally embraced? I for one am shocked (not really) that a political candidate is not universally embraced. Craziness!

For the fun of it, I decided to take a closer look. A quick trip to Wikipedia produced a list of female state governors in the United States. There were 29 in total, past and present. Of those based on another minute’s worth of research, I found 8 to be deceased, leaving 21 potential interviewees. Politico stated that current female governors didn’t weigh in, so I removed another 8 who are presently serving.

That leaves us with 13 former, living, female governors with which Politico may (or may not) have spoken. Of those women, 7 are Republicans and 6 are Democrats. By my statistics, which admittedly may be a bit under-researched, Politico spoke with a nearly 50/50 political party split and reported that Palin was not universally embraced.

Were they expecting the female Democratic former governors to support Palin simply because she was a fellow female governor? This isn’t a trip to the ladies room. Women don’t necessarily join in just because another woman is going. This is politics. I would have to imagine that getting a former governor to vote across party lines is going to take more than a gender commonality.

I haven’t conducted my own research, but I’m going to go out on a limb and say that I suspect Biden is not universally accepted by former male governors either. Maybe the media could poll them to confirm.

Oh well. If you’re interested, the vice-presidential debates air tonight at 9:00 p.m. Eastern time on all the major networks: ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC, and, PBS. (As if you didn’t know that already.)

Leave a Reply

