Unexpected Use for Twitter

I found the reason Twitter is useful to me. I knew there had to be a reason to the insanity of giving myself one more online venue to update. It isn’t because I’m producing any life-changing tweets. It isn’t because I’m following any vitally important tweets. It’s because in that moment I decide to update Twitter, I must answer the question “What am I doing?” which makes me pause and reflect.

What am I doing in that moment? Is it what I sat down to do? Have I even touched the thing for which I came to the computer to work? I can’t tell you how many times I have looked at the happily blinking cursor that awaits my 140-character illumination and not had an answer to that question. Or sometimes my answer surprised me.

This is a multi-tasking society. I am supposed to be knowledgeable, powerful, successful, organized, tidy, all the while making sure my family is fed, has clean clothes to wear, and arrives at their scheduled events on time. I need to review a document, check Client A’s website, finish a report for Client B, reply to my email, schedule car service, feed the cats, walk the dog, and clean the baseball uniforms for the next game. Before lunch.

Having a mile long to do list means I find myself perpetually stuck with what I refer to as “one more thing” syndrome. I say to myself I will start that project timeline after I do just this one more thing. Then after that one thing I find another, and another, until the day is through and I’m trying to recall just what I did today.

In that moment of updating Twitter, I am forced to be honest about what I am doing. In fact, in that moment, I may leave Twitter without posting and get back on track.

Update 5/22/08: If you would like to follow my tweets, go to http://twitter.com/lifeafterweb.

1 Comment

  1. Lisa said,

    Friday, May 30, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    I know exactly what you mean! Even when I am confronted by that question on Facebook I always feel taken aback. And when I answer and don’t have something cool to say, I am disappointed. So, then I am inspired to do something interesting, just so I am able to post it. And that’s never a bad thing :-)


Leave a Reply

