How many places do I need on the web?

I have this blog, a website, a lightly used Twitter account, and a LinkedIn profile. I have accounts on Technorati, BlogHer, Delicious, Boxes and Arrows, and who even remembers where else. Most of the time, I forget about the ones I’ve just listed.

I tried Second Life to see what the buzz was about, but found dressing my avatar and changing hairstyles far more appealing than conversing with any scantily clad habitants or, um, Darth Vadar. I’ve been invited to join MySpace and politely declined (ok, ignored) the offers. I’ve received two invitations to Facebook in the last month.

I even went so far as to search names to see how many other people I might know on Facebook. (A few. Truth be told, I’m more into computers and the internet than most of my friends.) I’ll probably start an account, if for no other reason, to learn about it firsthand. After all, as a web producer, I ought to be familiar with these things. Why haven’t I done it yet? There are just so many accounts to keep track of and update. While my family will groan I spend too much time on the computer, I have activities out there in the real world that need attention, too.

With so many social networking sites and everyone else adding login-required features, how many accounts is enough? Is it even socially acceptable to be offline? When I’m away from my computer, I can’t help but think about the blog posts that need to be written, the emails that are accumulating with more work, the Twitter account which sits awaiting an update for no other reason than to make myself feel like I’m keeping up.

I love the web and I love all the tools out there. I will always be looking for the usefulness of the latest trends. I will always tinker around to see how things work or how I (or my clients) can make use of them.

As for Facebook, I know it’s popularity has probably already peaked, but don’t rule out a fashionably late appearance from me. Anything can happen. (Except for MySpace. I’m still avoiding that one like the plague.)

2 Comments

  1. Saturday, March 8, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    ha ha…great article – yet so true – how many places do i need to join to be acceptable to society – REALLY!?

  2. Monday, March 10, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    […] Web Design ← How many places do I need on the web? […]


Leave a Reply

