TV Commercial Set In Online Game World

As more people spend time in online games, online games enter offline arenas.  Even those of us that don’t play World of Warcraft have at least heard of it.  Advertisers like Toyota are now banking on that idea with commercials like this one for their Tacoma pick-up truck.

If this vehicle is good enough to battle in World of Warcraft, surely it can carry you and your stuff from point A to point B.  Toyota probably banked on bloggers like myself turning this into a viral marketing campaign.  I suppose I don’t mind.  I’ll admit when commercials catch my attention- not a minor feat considering my limited television viewing and my joy in skipping commercials (I count the DVR as one of my favorite modern inventions).

Beyond providing a chuckle, though, this commercial is a great example of the blurring lines between online and offline entertainment.  As more of our time is spent in online activities, advertisers must do what they can to catch our attention when we’re not online- and apparently now that means images of those familiar online worlds brought to us in other mediums.

1 Comment

  1. S'ra said,

    Saturday, February 9, 2008 at 11:33 am

    This commercial made me laugh so hard I nearly fell off my chair . . . the reason being that I work with a group of very techie guys who rave about WOW and often communicate in gaming terms. It is certainly a subculture, one that apparently my little bro is now into as well. Ah the bygone days of saving the princess in Super Mario or, with a ride on the way back machine, move a hyphen to shoot pixels at invaders. “Four wheels of fury!” “I am the law giver!” LOL


Leave a Reply

