Happy New Year: Time to re-center ourselves

The new year is a time for new beginnings. As for me, every day is a new day, so this time of year doesn’t hold any extra cachet. Renewal can happen at any moment we choose. I also believe that renewal isn’t necessarily the reinventing of oneself, but the centering of oneself. It is starting fresh from your core being, with the added benefit of more life experiences behind you.

Rather than making resolutions you will likely drop by month’s end, take this time to evaluate where you are now and how aligned you are with your personal goals.   Maybe it’s time to start working on that business you keep thinking about, or planning your dream vacation.

Also, celebrate your accomplishments from last year. I thumbed through an old journal the other day and came across a list of changes I had at one time wanted to make in my attitude and actions. Fear swept through me as I realized I had let such a list go. Imagine my surprise when I realized I had achieved more than half the items on my list despite not reviewing the list since writing it. I guess all of those folks out there who preach, “put it in writing,” are right after all. What have you accomplished without realizing it?

I am facing the new year as I always do- one day at a time. Here’s to 366 (it’s Leap Year, remember) grand new days in 2008.

2 Comments

  1. undercanopy said,

    Wednesday, January 2, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Milestones are important because they keep us focused on our goals. The New Year milestone is a good opportunity for retrospective and reassessment. Nice blog. :)

  2. Sherri said,

    Wednesday, January 23, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Thank you, undercanopy. I agree that milestones are important. It’s nice to have the new year as a reminder to check in.


Leave a Reply

