I’m Now LinkedIn

I did it. After resisting (a lot), I finally joined one of the highly touted social networking sites. No, not MySpace or Facebook. I don’t see a value in those for me. I joined LinkedIn.

My decision to do so stemmed mostly from my desire to track down a couple of former colleagues. All of us have moved on from our shared employer. A quick search returned both of their names in the LinkedIn database, so I broke down and signed up for my own account.

The rest of the weekend proved interesting as I tracked down other former colleagues and business partners, inviting them to join my network. My favorite part was checking in to find out who had responded and what they were up to. A few people that I didn’t expect to hear from were actually among the first to respond. Some respondents passed along new phone numbers.

When changing jobs, there is a tendency to lose touch with people you used to speak with on a daily basis. Even something as simple as an email or short phone call from time to time can keep that relationship alive. LinkedIn gives me an easy way to keep in touch.

Maybe there’s something to this whole social networking thing after all.

3 Comments

  1. J. said,

    Wednesday, October 31, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    Hi Sherri,

    Welcome to the club!

    I must admit that I didn’t see the added value of sites like these, but after five headhunters and a new job I am now a true believer.

    Hope you like it too.

    J.

  2. Sherri said,

    Thursday, November 1, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    Thanks, J. It’s good to know LinkedIn has worked for you. Responses are still trickling in from my connection invitations. It’s been fun getting back in touch with past colleagues.

  3. Lisa said,

    Monday, November 5, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    Thanks to you, I am now both linked in and totally twittered!!!


Leave a Reply

