Putting Twitter to Good Use

Though social networking is a hot topic these days, I haven’t found a great need for it in my life. In fact, I just joined a social networking site for the first time this weekend (more on that tomorrow), only after feeling confident that it would help me reconnect with former colleagues. I’m a functional person. Until I see a purpose, I don’t get caught up in the hype.

Twitter, in particular, is a social networking fad I haven’t been able to grasp. I’ve seen the site. I’ve read articles about it. I admit I haven’t tried Twittering, but I just don’t see how it would enhance my life. I don’t feel compelled to share what I’m doing right now (writing a blog post) or read that someone else is eating a bagel on a subway.

That doesn’t stop me from being interested in how others are using Twitter (or any technology), however. I always like to know how Web developments are being used. Jennifer Laycock of Search Engine Guide explains how Twitter is being used to disseminate information about the California wildfires.  She says:

I hopped on over to check out the Twitter coverage of the fires and it’s pretty darn useful. There are notes on which neighborhoods are now being evacuated, notes about how many homes have been destroyed in certain areas, information on where the evacuation centers are and quite a bit more.

I love it when technology and human issues meet.

2 Comments

  1. Maximus said,

    Thursday, December 20, 2007 at 7:38 am

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic

  2. Sherri said,

    Thursday, December 20, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    I’ve been looking for other useful Twitterings. Watch for a new post on this soon.


Leave a Reply

