My Attempt to Slow Down

Tonight I attempted to slow down. My boyfriend and I had a discussion earlier today about the pace of our lives in the past few months. As it turns out, I’m not the only one feeling hurried. I’ve been running so hard all day everyday, then falling equally hard in to bed each night. It’s a difficult pace to sustain, and one which I have no desire to maintain.

What have I done tonight? First, I fed the family: soup. Super simple, super quick, done in a flash. We reviewed school papers to prepare for tomorrow. Then, while the boys prepared for video game night, I packed a bag of magazines I’ve been meaning to read, my journal, a book, and my laptop. As silly as it may sound, I was as happy as if I was packing for vacation. Goodie bag in tow, I headed down to the basement for a little Sherri time.

Let’s be honest, I still multi-tasked. I propped my feet up, watched useless television (my term for shows I don’t really care about, but turn to for light entertainment on such rare occasions), flipped through a few magazines, then started playing with this blog. Yes, another new look. It’s fun to experiment, so I hope you’ll bear with me. I kind of like the minimalist approach of this theme. A small simplification, but a simplification nonetheless. I’ll take it.

I digress.

While enjoying my Sherri time, I thought I’d see what others do to slow down when life gets too fast. I found a great post at zen habits offering reasons to slow down followed by ideas on how.

It’s so important to not let life get out of hand. It will try and at times it may succeed. Always take steps to return to a comfortable pace. I’m thankful for the time I’ve had tonight. Hopefully this will remind me to take time and slow down… even if it has to be scheduled.

I leave you with this quote from Eddie Cantor:

Slow down and enjoy life. It’s not only the scenery you miss by going too fast – you also miss the sense of where you are going and why.

Now, please excuse me while I pay attention to the dog. He needs his time, too.

1 Comment

  1. S'ra said,

    Friday, October 5, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    It is oddly whimsical and reassuring how closely our lives often circulate, when the busyness of business grabs hold. I found myself, around this time (give or take the zone difference), pondering the same thing, Pinky. Yes, please pet the dog, continue to experiment and bask in the glow of time spent on self.


Leave a Reply

