Serenity in the Routine

I wrote this while away from my computer this afternoon. When life gets busy (and it always does), it’s important to find moments of serenity where you can. Even if it’s just a Sunday baseball practice.

Sitting outside on a blanket in the shade of a maple tree. (Ok, I don’t know if it’s a maple tree or not, but “in the shade of a tree” felt like it was missing something.) My soundtrack is the rustling leaves of the tree behind me and the sounds of children playing catch.

A ball bumps along the dirt until it is scooped up by one young plaer. Another ball pops high in the sky and drops with a slap in a ready glove.

The field is filled with boys and their dads partaking in America’s favorite pastime. I can only assume I’m not the only one enjoying this moment.

Leave a Reply

