One New Camera, 350 Pictures Later

I bought a new camera yesterday, just in time for a concert for which I was supposed to be photographer.  Talk about waiting until the last minute.  Of course, I didn’t want to be using the camera for the first time at the concert, so I warmed up at the little league game.

First, let’s start with what I got: the Nikon D40x digital SLR.  I bought two lenses, the 18-55 and the 55-200.  So far, it’s a great camera.  I kept my settings pretty basic given the short time I had to experiment before being called to duty.

Second, the buying experience.  I went to Ritz Camera with a few cameras in mind expecting them to give me enough information to complete my decision.  I’ve had good luck there in the past, but yesterday seemed a bit off.  I can sum up yesterday’s experience like this.  I walked in and said, “I want to buy a camera- a digital SLR.”  (What more could a salesperson dream for?)  The saleswoman handed me one camera, then left to help a gentleman who walked in after me and was looking a $99 sale priced point and shoot.  Interesting choice.  Since I didn’t have much time, however, I persisted and eventually she helped me get a great deal and even helped me take advantage of a sale one day before it’s start date.

Enough about the details, though.  On to the fun stuff.  Here are a few highlights one new camera, 24 hours, and 350 pictures later.

A little league outfielder marks his place.
dsc_0075_500w.jpg

Johnny Maestro performs with his band, The Brooklyn Bridge.
dsc_0176_500w.jpg

Fireworks rise above the trees after the concert.
dsc_0237_500w.jpg

2 Comments

  1. Sunday, September 9, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    Sherri,
    That’s a nice Nikon you got and some wonderful initial photos.
    Enjoy.

  2. Sherri said,

    Monday, September 10, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    Thanks, Farrell. It’s a fun new toy. Now if I could only find a bumble bee on a sunflower… .


Leave a Reply

