New Phone or Not New Phone

When it comes to cell phones, I’ve kept it simple. I only use my phone for calls (usually 3 or less per day) and the occasional text message (about 5 per week).

The problem is I like technology. I’ve been itching for a phone that will let me check my email, surf the web, maybe read a few articles. Do I need it? Probably not. But it would be nice to check my schedule while away from my computer. (Yes, I could do that with a paper planner, but then I’d need a bigger purse and I’m not willing to take that step.)

Here’s the next dilemma: what would I get if I were to change phones? I want to stay with Verizon because I’ve had the best luck getting service in patchy areas through them. Verizon doesn’t seem to have many phones I find appealing though.

The iPhone looks great, of course. It brings with it a high price tag and a non-Verizon provider. I’ve also read about troubles using it with a Windows computer. Since I use both Mac and Windows, that could potentially be problematic. It’s a nice gadget. Sleek with a vibrant screen. I’m just not ready for that financial commitment.

The Blackberry Pearl looks good, but again, it’s not offered by Verizon.

What’s a girl to do? Data plan or just web access? I want to keep costs down, both the initial investment and the monthly usage fees. I want a full keyboard so I don’t have to hit a key three times to produce one letter. I would like to be able to check my schedule and my email.

Perhaps I’m asking too much. Perhaps I should continue with my current phone. Any ideas?

2 Comments

  1. J. said,

    Saturday, September 1, 2007 at 9:02 am

    Just be careful what you wish for, because it was the same with me. Using my phone a few times a week, until I got my brand new Nokia N73 together with an extra 10 euros on my monthly fee for unlimited internet access.

    Now I’m continuously checking my email and reading about 10 blogposts a minute. I’m just happy that Twitter hasn’t optimized it’s website yet for mobile devices, otherwise I wouldn’t even have time to use a normal computer anymore.

    Okay so maybe it’s not that bad, but once you’ve started can’t go back. The question you’ve got to ask yourself is, what you want to do with it. If you only want to ‘consume’ when on the go, then any phone with a big screen and simple keyboard will do. But if you really want to write emails, blogposts, etc., then you should go for a full keyboard. In that case my advice would be to for the latest Blackberry model that Verizon does offer, because any Blackberry is a good one and the Pearl is not enough reason to leave a good provider for.

    And the iPhone? As pretty as the little ‘pearl’ is, wait until Apple has a model that doesn’t break just by looking at it.

    Hope that helps.

    J.

  2. Sherri said,

    Monday, September 3, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    Thanks for the thoughts, J. I am worried that I’ll be consumed by internet on the phone if I decide to go that route. Maybe that’s why I’ve stuck with my little Razr for now. And maybe I should tote a book with me so when others around me start obsessing on their Blackberries, I’ll still have something to do.


Leave a Reply

