Finding Adventure and Emotion in Books

I enjoy reading.  Selecting just the right book to curl up with in my favorite chair, or maybe the corner of the couch.  Allowing the story to reveal to me the character’s inner most thoughts.  Joining an adventure and sharing that final triumphant moment.

Not every book serves that level of magic, but when I find the one that does, I am immersed.  My heart races or aches with the character’s.  I smile or raise my eyebrows as the plot unfolds.

The Witch of Portobello, by Paulo Coelho, was one of these books.  (See my short review on the My Reads page.)  I was completely drawn in from the very first page to the very last.

I love when a phrase or sentence is so beautifully crafted to make me think “marvelous” upon reading it.  So here are a few great passages I’ve found along my journey:

  • “The thousand injuries of Fortunato I had borne as I best could; but when he ventured upon insult, I vowed revenge.” From the short story “The Cask of Amontillado” by Edgar Allan Poe.
  • “Through the glass in the door [a light] cast a foolscap rectangle of paleness onto the wet pavement, and it was while I was standing in that rectangle, about to turn my key in the door, that I first saw the letter.” From The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield.
  • “I’m not going to look for happiness anymore. From now on, I’m independent; I see life through my eyes and not through other people’s.  I’m going in search of the adventure of being alive.” From The Witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho. 
  • “I know I can’t erase all those years behind me and really, I wouldn’t want to.  I could have made better choices, could have changed the course of my life a long time ago, but I didn’t.  And really, it wasn’t all horrible.”  From The Elegant Gathering of White Snows by Kris Radish.
  • “If you really love someone, you want to know what they ate for lunch or dinner without you.  Hi, sweetie, how was your day, what did you have for lunch? … The meal that has no bearing on the relationship appears to be breakfast. I can love you and not know that when you were in Cincinnati last Wednesday you had yogurt and a bagel.” From entry on “Love” in Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life by Amy Krouse Rosenthal.
  • “‘Rain never hinders me from walking. Indeed, it gives a new beauty to such a country as this.'” From Ruth by Elizabeth Gaskell.
3 Comments

  1. krissnp said,

    Tuesday, August 14, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    interesting blog. happy reading.

  2. Sherri said,

    Wednesday, August 15, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Thanks for your comment, Kriss. Hope to see you back again.

  3. aart said,

    Thursday, August 16, 2007 at 10:11 am

    Sherri, hello! This is really amazing book! Love it so much!
    I’m a big Paulo Coelho’s fan and I don’t know if you heard about his blog
    http://www.paulocoelhoblog.com
    I’ve started as a fan and now I’m collaborating with him and thought that you would like to enter his universe.
    Check the blog, if you want, or subscribe to his newsletter
    http://www.warriorofthelight.com/engl/index.html
    You’ll see a community of warriors of light sharing ideas, dreams and most importantly following their personal legend.

    QUOTE OF THE DAY:
    “Choosing one path means abandoning others – if you try to follow every possible path you will end up following none.”

    See u there and have a great day!
    Aart


Leave a Reply

