Personal Notes are Priceless

Personal notes are priceless in the age of technology. Take this one for instance that I received after posting my Top 7 Happy Songs last week, which included a song by Israel Kamakawiwo‘ole.

Hi Sherry,

I had the opportunity to see your 7 happy songs and I wanted to thank you for including IZ. We just released a new album of his songs orchestrated that you might want to sample, it’s beautiful. You can listen at

http://www.mountainapplecompany.com/Content43.aspx?ArtistID=1980

Again, thanks for the ranking….it always amazes me to see how his music continues to travel beyond the reef!

Aloha & Mahalo nui loa,

Leah

Talk about a girl on the ball. She is obviously keeping tabs on where “IZ’s” name turns up. Aside from that, I feel honored that she 1. found my site, and 2. took the time to send a personal email. It’s all too easy to rely on mass emails and phone conferences. Certainly a lot of work gets done that way, but don’t forget to take the time to write a personal note every so often. It can mean so much to the recipient.

I, myself, have recently invested in a stack of postcards and stamps. Each week I flip open my address book and pick someone I haven’t spoken with in a while. My goal has been to send one note each week, but I’ve sent 6 in the last 3 weeks because it is easy to grab a note, write a few sentences, stamp it, and drop it in the mail at work.

Personal notes are great for family, friends, and business contacts. What better way to let them know they are important to you.

Leave a Reply

