Call to a Friend is Soothing and Inspiring

I spoke with a friend today, who is now providing emergency foster care for infants. Every time I speak with her, I am struck by what a wonderful human being she is. She is one of the most genuinely kind people you could ever wish to meet. She left her job several months ago to pursue emergency foster infant care, which provides very little by way of payment or glory, but she does it anyway. Simply because she believes in it. She gives them a loving home, warm clothes, food, baths, hugs, you name it, then will send a care package of blankets and clothes when the baby is returned home or given a new home. Talk about selfless service.

Whenever I speak with her, I instantly feel calm. She pays full attention during the phone call, not wasting precious time multi-tasking like so many of us would. Though I’m guilty of typing emails while on the phone, I always set everything aside when I speak with this woman. If she can do it, so can I.

Leave a Reply

