Serving in a “Me” Society

I received an email yesterday from my friend who left her job to become an emergency foster care giver for infants. She just took in her first baby, a one-week old boy. In her note she said, “It’s a little over 24 hours later, and all I can tell you is that we (and all who’ve met him so far) are in love!” To hear my friend speak about it sounds like she is the luckiest woman in the world to be able to provide such a service. From where I sit, I think that baby is lucky to have gone to such a loving home.

Sadly in this “me” society, it’s shocking to come across people that consider themselves blessed to be helping others. Everyone seems so caught up in how to get ahead at work, buying fancy cars, and generally playing keep up with the Joneses. I have to say, it all seems a bit silly. I would much rather try to keep up with my friend, who seems truly to know what life is all about. She is ecstatic: “I can’t tell you how rewarding it is to finally be doing what I’ve been waiting to do!”

Leave a Reply

