Spring Colors Flourish

Spring is finally arriving.  I can tell because my office complex replaced the greenery with daffodils, dandelions fill the median strips of my daily commute, and my neighbor has already mowed his lawn twice this week.

It dawned on me during these commutes that I always hear people talk about Fall colors, but rarely hear the same excitement over Spring colors and I have to wonder why. Maybe we’re too busy cleaning or preparing for summer.  I don’t ever hear anyone say they are going to take a drive to look at the Spring foliage. It’s exciting to see everything wake back up after a long winter’s nap, though. Here are a few other random things I like about Spring:

  • Wildflowers and butterflies
  • Sound of all ages playing outdoors
  • Going to a baseball game
  • Fresh breeze rustling the curtains
  • Flavorful fruits and vegetables to liven up my mediocre cooking
  • Advertisements

2 Comments

  1. deb said,

    Sunday, April 29, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    i’m never completely positive whether my excitement at the beginning of spring training is about baseball, or if i really see it as a herald of spring. probably both.

    i like the way you put it. “seeing things wake up”
    that’s exactly what it’s like.
    i’ll pay more attention now that you mentioned it.
    thanks for that.
    all the best!
    deb

  2. sherrileigh said,

    Tuesday, May 1, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    True… the spring training may not be about the baseball after all.


Leave a Reply

