Me Without Apologies

Sherri's birthday self-portrait

My birthday self-portrait

Today is my 33rd birthday. I love my birthday, not because of presents or attention (not that those hurt), but because it is the one day a year I feel absolutely guilt free about how I spend my time. It is the ultimate day to be me, without apologies.

Being my genuine, authentic self has been forefront in my mind in the last few years. I’m learning not to care what others may think. I’m learning that sometimes I think people think worse of me than they actually do. In the past I’ve let that fear dictate my actions, but over the past few years I’ve tried to let all of those thoughts go.

It’s not easy. I still get caught up in worry and fear. I believe, though, that being genuine is worth it. Only by doing so can I be me without apologies everyday.

So what’s on my agenda today? First, it was to take a self-portrait. I took the one you see here in my backyard this morning.

Next up, pedicure followed by shopping for my garden stuff (veggies! flowers! herbs!). This afternoon I’ll be at the hairdresser getting my pink stripe. Something tells me another birthday self-portrait will be coming.

The universe must have known it was my birthday because we got a call this morning that my stepson’s baseball practice scheduled for tonight has been canceled. Yay! That means we can all hang out and have fun tonight.

My husband is going to grill steaks and make smoothies. My mother-in-law is going to make one of my favorite salads and a chocolate cake. (Chocolate cake with chocolate icing was my first request upon being asked what I wanted for my birthday dinner. Actually it was my second and third requests, too.)

My mother-in-law said, “So we’ll make the cake. Do you have a cake pan?”

Oh yes. I have a cake a pan. A glorious butterfly shaped cake pan that my beautiful friend Alina gave me for Christmas.

There will be chocolate butterfly cake. Awesome!

In the words of Big & Rich, “Today is even better than yesterday. Everything is going my way. I’m living in the big time.”

3 Comments

  1. Thursday, May 6, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Happy birthday, Sherri!

    I *love* that self-portrait, AND I can’t wait to see the pink stripe in your hair!

    Have a beautiful day and a beautiful year!

    xo victoria

  2. Alina said,

    Thursday, May 6, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Happy Birthday Sherri. Enjoy your special day. I love you!

  3. Friday, May 7, 2010 at 8:47 am

    […] Yesterday was my birthday, so it only makes sense that today’s happy post show exactly what made my day so happy. […]


Leave a comment